Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav
Published · Updated
Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav is a soft bread bun made mostly from whole wheat atta, sold for pav bhaji and everyday meals. It scores CA2: middling on nutrition because wheat protein and fibre are modest, strong on ingredients with no additives and no hollow promises, and low on risk, held back mainly by sodium. Fine for everyday meals, best with a low-salt filling.
Ingredients, decoded
11 listed- Whole Wheat Flour (Atta)
- Sugar
- Yeast
- Gluten
- Edible Vegetable Oil (Refined Soyabean Oil)
- Iodized Salt
- Fermented Wheat Flour
- Brewed Vinegar
- Malt Product
- Cultured Sugar
- Milk Solids

2 teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 9 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 240.2 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 9.3 g |
| Carbohydrates | 49.4 g |
| Total sugars | 9 g |
| Added sugars | 3.6 g |
| Dietary fibre | 5.5 g |
| Total fat | 0.62 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.3 g |
| Trans fat | 0.05 g |
| Cholesterol | 0.03 mg |
| Sodium | 472.6 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav
A whole wheat pav with sodium as its catch
Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav is a packaged bread bun made from whole wheat flour (atta, 62.87% of the bun), sugar, yeast, added gluten, refined soyabean oil, iodized salt, fermented wheat flour, brewed vinegar, malt product, cultured sugar and milk solids. It is bought by people who want pav for bhaji or snacks without refined white flour.
A 50 g serve gives about 120 kcal, 4.7 g protein and 2.7 g fibre, and a 300 g pack holds about 6 serves. Per 100 g the bun has 9.3 g protein, 5.48 g fibre, 0.62 g fat and 3.58 g added sugar. The cost is sodium: 472.61 mg per 100 g, about 236 mg per serve.
The pack promises no maida, no palm oil and no added colour, and the list agrees: none of the three is there. The front of the pack reads Whole Wheat Bombay Pav, while the product name says Zero Maida, so the same bun carries two names. CleanPlate scores it CA2.
Why Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav scores CA2
Nutrition is a C on 9.3 g protein and 5.48 g fibre per 100 g, mostly from wheat. Ingredients are an A with no additives of concern, and risk is a 2, driven mainly by 472.61 mg sodium per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 9.3 g
- Fibre
- 5.5 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 240 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 9.3 g per 100 g and fibre is 5.48 g. Most of the protein comes from the whole wheat flour, and wheat protein is counted at a reduced weight, so the grade stops at a C.
No vitamins or minerals are declared, so nothing adds to the grade beyond protein and fibre. Energy is 240.24 kcal per 100 g, about 120 kcal per 50 g serve.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Clean, minimally processed
- Base
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Main fat
- Edible Vegetable Oil
- Sweeteners
- Sugar, Cultured Sugar
- Additives
- 0
- Flagged
- None
02 Ingredient integrity: why A
The list is short and mostly plain: whole wheat flour, sugar, yeast, gluten, refined soyabean oil, salt, vinegar and malt. No additive of concern is listed, so nothing costs ingredient points.
No hydrogenated fat is listed, so the declared trans fat is accepted. No claim on the pack is contradicted by the list, so there is no label penalty.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
Low risk
- Added sugar
- 3.6 g
- Sodium
- 472.6 mg
- Saturated fat
- 0.3 g
- Trans fat
- 0.05 g
03 Load risk: why 2
Sodium is the main driver: 472.61 mg per 100 g, about 236 mg per 50 g serve. It makes up most of the risk number, which lands on a 2.
Added sugar is 3.58 g per 100 g, and saturated fat is 0.3 g per 100 g, so both add little. Trans fat is 0.05 g per 100 g. Energy does not add to the risk.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
No major red flags on the label.
Green flags
- +Green flag: Source of protein (9.3g)
- +Green flag: Source of fibre
- +Green flag: No additives
Does Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav live up to its claims?
No maida, no palm oil, no added colour and cholesterol free all hold. The 100% atta line needs care, since flour is 62.87% of the bun and the name differs from the front of the pack.
- Product nameHolds
“Zero Maida / NO Maida”
No maida is listed. The pack states the wheat flour used is 100% whole wheat atta, which is 62.87% of the bun.
- On the packBe careful
“100% ATTA”
The flour is whole wheat atta, but flour is 62.87% of the bun. Added gluten and fermented wheat flour, whose type is not stated, are also in the list.
- On the packHolds
“NO Palm Oil”
The only added oil is refined soyabean oil. Fat is 0.62 g per 100 g.
- On the packHolds
“Cholesterol Free”
Cholesterol is 0.03 mg per 100 g, effectively none, as expected from a bread.
- Retail listingBe careful
“Zero Maida Pav”
The retailer page shows Zero Maida Pav, the pack front shows Whole Wheat Bombay Pav. The ingredients match the whole wheat description.
What's in Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
Whole wheat flour leads, then sugar, yeast and added gluten. There is no additive of concern. The sugar and the salt are the points to watch.
The ingredient list, read for you
Whole wheat flour (atta) leads at 62.87% of the bun, followed by sugar, yeast and added gluten, which gives the soft, springy crumb. Refined soyabean oil, iodized salt, brewed vinegar, malt product and cultured sugar are used in small amounts for softness, flavour and keeping. Milk solids come last, and no other percentages are declared.
Ingredients to watch
- SodiumWorth watching
472.61 mg per 100 g, about 236 mg in a 50 g serve. It is most of the risk number, and a second pav doubles it.
- Sugar as second ingredientWorth watching
Added sugar is 3.58 g per 100 g, about 1.8 g per serve. Sugar is listed second and cultured sugar also appears.
- Fermented wheat flour (type not stated)Worth watching
The label does not say whether it is whole wheat or refined. It has no percentage.
- Whole wheat flourFine
62.87% of the bun and first on the list, giving 5.48 g fibre per 100 g.
- No additives of concernFine
No colour, preservative or palm oil is listed, and no hydrogenated fat.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared.
- Percentages are given only for whole wheat flour, not for the other ingredients.
Who should eat Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
An everyday bread for most adults and children. People managing blood sugar should keep to a serve or two, since a 50 g serve carries about 25 g carbohydrate.
- Most adultsEveryday
About 120 kcal and 236 mg sodium per 50 g serve, with 2.7 g fibre.
- ChildrenEveryday
No colour, sweetener or hydrogenated fat, with 1.8 g added sugar per serve.
- Diabetes or prediabetesA few times a week
About 25 g carbohydrate per 50 g serve, with 2.7 g fibre to slow it.
- Active peopleEveryday
4.7 g protein and about 25 g carbohydrate per serve make a useful base for a filled bun.
Recipes with Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav
Pav suits bhaji, vada pav or a toasted filling. Keep the butter and salt light, as the bun already has about 236 mg sodium per serve.
Pav bhaji
Serve the bhaji with one or two toasted pavs, remembering each 50 g serve has about 236 mg sodium before the bhaji adds its own.
Vada pav
Use the pav as the soft bun for a potato vada, with the whole wheat flour giving 2.7 g fibre per serve.
Egg bhurji pav
Pair a pav with scrambled eggs and tomato, so a bun with 4.7 g protein becomes a fuller meal.
Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav is a soft bread bun made mostly from whole wheat atta, sold for pav bhaji and everyday meals. It scores CA2: middling on nutrition because wheat protein and fibre are modest, strong on ingredients with no additives and no hollow promises, and low on risk, held back mainly by sodium. Fine for everyday meals, best with a low-salt filling. Nutrition C, ingredients A, load risk 2; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
Per 100 g, Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav has 240 kcal, 9.3 g protein, 49.4 g carbohydrate, 0.62 g fat and 0.3 g saturated fat. One serve (50 g serve, about 6 per 300 g pack) has 120 kcal and 4.7 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
11 ingredients, in label order: Whole Wheat Flour (Atta), Sugar, Yeast, Gluten, Edible Vegetable Oil (Refined Soyabean Oil), Iodized Salt, Fermented Wheat Flour, Brewed Vinegar, Malt Product, Cultured Sugar, Milk Solids.
Does Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav live up to its claims?
5 claims checked: 3 hold, 2 need care. "100% ATTA" needs care: The flour is whole wheat atta, but flour is 62.87% of the bun. Added gluten and fermented wheat flour, whose type is not stated, are also in the list. "Zero Maida Pav" needs care: The retailer page shows Zero Maida Pav, the pack front shows Whole Wheat Bombay Pav. The ingredients match the whole wheat description.
Who should limit Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav?
Most adults: everyday. About 120 kcal and 236 mg sodium per 50 g serve, with 2.7 g fibre. Children: everyday. No colour, sweetener or hydrogenated fat, with 1.8 g added sugar per serve. Diabetes or prediabetes: a few times a week. About 25 g carbohydrate per 50 g serve, with 2.7 g fibre to slow it.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav have?
Per 100 g, Baker's Loaf Zero Maida Pav has 3.6 g added sugar, 473 mg sodium (about 1.2 g salt) and 0.3 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is under all three lines.
Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .

