Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake
Published · Updated
Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake is a single-serve whole wheat and oat cake with carrot and walnut. It scores CB4: middling on nutrition for modest protein and useful fibre, decent on ingredients despite a caramel colour and an undeclared walnut share, and high on risk because of the sugar from honey and jaggery. Best kept as an occasional treat.
Ingredients, decoded
16 listed- Whole Wheat Flour
- Oats
- Milk Solids
- Butter
- Edible Sunflower Oil
- Carrot
- Walnut
- Common salt
- Honey
- Jaggery
- Baking powder
- Raising Agent (E500ii)
- Caramel Colour (E150d)
- Emulsifiers & Stabilizers (E471 & E415)
- Preservative (INS202, INS282)
- Acidity Regulator (INS330)

4½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 23.1 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 421.5 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 6.9 g |
| Carbohydrates | 53.1 g |
| Total sugars | 23.1 g |
| Added sugars | 19.3 g |
| Dietary fibre | 6 g |
| Total fat | 20.2 g |
| Saturated fat | 3 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 5 mg |
| Sodium | 428.9 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake
Whole-grain cake with 21 g free sugar per 100 g
A 60 g slice cake built on whole wheat flour and oats, with milk solids, butter and sunflower oil, carrot and walnut, sweetened with honey and jaggery. It is sold to people who want a cake without maida, refined sugar or palm oil, and who like it with chai.
One slice is the whole 60 g pack: about 253 kcal, 4.1 g protein and 3.6 g fibre. The cost is on the sugar and salt side. Free sugar is 21.1 g per 100 g, about 12.7 g a slice, and sodium is 428.9 mg per 100 g, about 257 mg a slice. Saturated fat is low at 2.98 g per 100 g.
The front promises no maida, no palm oil and no refined sugar, and the list agrees on the first two. The sugar comes from honey and jaggery, which still count as free sugar. Walnut is in the name but its share is not declared. CleanPlate scores it CB4.
Why Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake scores CB4
Nutrition is a C on 6.88 g protein and 6 g fibre per 100 g. Ingredients are a B, held back by caramel colour and an undeclared walnut share. Risk is a 4, mainly from 21.1 g free sugar per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 6.9 g
- Fibre
- 6 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 422 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 6.88 g per 100 g and fibre is 6 g, so one 60 g slice gives about 4.1 g protein and 3.6 g fibre. Energy is 421.5 kcal per 100 g, about 253 kcal a slice.
No vitamins or minerals are declared, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Good, few concerning additives
- Base
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Main fat
- Butter
- Sweeteners
- Honey, Jaggery
- Additives
- 6
- Flagged
- Caramel Colour (Class IV), Calcium Propionate
02 Ingredient integrity: why B
Whole wheat flour and oats lead the list, followed by milk solids, butter and sunflower oil. There is no maida, no palm oil and no hydrogenated fat, and the declared trans fat of 0 g is accepted.
Caramel colour (E150d) costs ingredient points, and so do the thickener xanthan gum (E415) and the emulsifier E471. The preservatives (INS 202, 282), the acidity regulator and the raising agent cost nothing.
Walnut is in the name but its percentage is not declared, which costs a small label point.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 19.3 g
- Sodium
- 428.9 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Sugar is the biggest part of the risk number. Honey is listed and its sugar is not in the added-sugar line, so free sugar is counted as 21.1 g per 100 g, against 19.27 g declared as added. A slice has about 12.7 g.
Sodium of 428.9 mg per 100 g is next, about 257 mg a slice, then energy. Saturated fat at 2.98 g per 100 g adds little, and trans fat is 0 g.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High added sugar (19.3g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Contains Caramel Colour (Class IV)
- −Red flag: Contains Calcium Propionate
Green flags
- +Green flag: High fibre (6g)
Does Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake live up to its claims?
No maida and no palm oil hold. No refined sugar is true in a narrow sense, but honey and jaggery leave 21.1 g free sugar per 100 g, and the walnut share is not declared.
- Product namePartly true
“Carrot Walnut”
Carrot and walnut are both in the list, but neither has a declared percentage, so how much walnut is in the cake is not stated.
- On the packBe careful
“NO REFINED SUGAR”
No refined sugar is listed, but honey and jaggery are. Free sugar is 21.1 g per 100 g, about 12.7 g in one slice.
- On the packHolds
“NO MAIDA”
The flour is whole wheat, and no maida appears in the list.
- On the packHolds
“NO PALM OIL”
The fats are butter and edible sunflower oil. No palm oil is listed.
- Retail listingBe careful
“Ashwagandha, brahmi, ginseng, beta glucan”
The retailer page shows these as health ingredients, but the pack ingredient list has none of them. The pack list is the one that counts.
What's in Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
Whole wheat flour, oats, milk solids, butter and sunflower oil lead the list. Watch the honey and jaggery sugar, the salt and the caramel colour.
The ingredient list, read for you
Whole wheat flour and oats come first, so the cake is built on whole grain, with milk solids, butter and sunflower oil for richness. Carrot and walnut follow, with no percentages declared. Honey and jaggery sweeten it, and salt, baking powder and a raising agent lift it.
The rest is additives: caramel colour (E150d) for the brown colour, E471 and E415 as emulsifier and stabiliser, two preservatives (INS 202, 282) and citric acid as the acidity regulator.
Ingredients to watch
- Free sugar from honey and jaggeryConcern
21.1 g per 100 g, about 12.7 g in one slice. It is the biggest driver of the risk grade, even with no refined sugar listed.
- SodiumWorth watching
428.9 mg per 100 g, about 257 mg in a slice, from salt and the raising agents.
- Caramel colour (E150d)Worth watching
A colour that costs ingredient points. The emulsifier E471 and the stabiliser E415 cost a little more.
- Walnut share not declaredWorth watching
Walnut is in the name, but the list gives no percentage, which costs a small label point.
- Whole grain and fibreFine
Whole wheat flour and oats lead the list, and fibre is 6 g per 100 g, about 3.6 g a slice.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
- No percentage is given for the carrot or the walnut.
Who should eat Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
An occasional treat for most adults, and rarely for children or anyone watching blood sugar, since one slice has about 12.7 g of free sugar.
- Most adultsOccasionally
A slice has about 12.7 g free sugar and 253 kcal.
- ChildrenRarely
About 12.7 g free sugar in one slice, plus a caramel colour.
- Diabetes or prediabetesRarely
Honey and jaggery still give 21.1 g free sugar per 100 g.
- Weight managementOccasionally
253 kcal in one slice, with 4.1 g protein.
Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake is a single-serve whole wheat and oat cake with carrot and walnut. It scores CB4: middling on nutrition for modest protein and useful fibre, decent on ingredients despite a caramel colour and an undeclared walnut share, and high on risk because of the sugar from honey and jaggery. Best kept as an occasional treat. Nutrition C, ingredients B, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
Per 100 g, Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake has 422 kcal, 6.9 g protein, 53.1 g carbohydrate, 20.2 g fat and 3 g saturated fat. One serve (1 slice, 60 g) has 253 kcal and 4.1 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
16 ingredients, in label order: Whole Wheat Flour, Oats, Milk Solids, Butter, Edible Sunflower Oil, Carrot, Walnut, Common salt, Honey, Jaggery, Baking powder, Raising Agent (E500ii), Caramel Colour (E150d), Emulsifiers & Stabilizers (E471 & E415), Preservative (INS202, INS282), Acidity Regulator (INS330). Flagged: Caramel Colour (Class IV) (low concern), Calcium Propionate (low concern).
Does Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake live up to its claims?
5 claims checked: 2 hold, 1 is partly true, 2 need care. "Carrot Walnut" is partly true: Carrot and walnut are both in the list, but neither has a declared percentage, so how much walnut is in the cake is not stated. "NO REFINED SUGAR" needs care: No refined sugar is listed, but honey and jaggery are. Free sugar is 21.1 g per 100 g, about 12.7 g in one slice.
Who should limit Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake?
Most adults: occasionally. A slice has about 12.7 g free sugar and 253 kcal. Children: rarely. About 12.7 g free sugar in one slice, plus a caramel colour. Diabetes or prediabetes: rarely. Honey and jaggery still give 21.1 g free sugar per 100 g.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake have?
Per 100 g, Awsum Better Bakes Carrot Walnut Slice Cake has 19.3 g added sugar, 429 mg sodium (about 1.1 g salt) and 3 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar.
Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Better Cakes & Pastries
All Cakes & Pastries →- The Baker's Dozen Fruit & Nut Pound Cake
- −Red flag: High added sugar (19g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Refined flour (maida) base
- The Baker's Dozen Protein Chocolate Muffin Cup Cake
- −Red flag: High added sugar (21g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Refined flour (maida) base
- The Baker's Dozen Whole Wheat Banana Muffin
- −Red flag: High added sugar (21g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Contains Calcium Propionate
