Charliee Cheese Khakhra
Published
Charliee Cheese Khakhra is a roasted wheat cracker snack, made mostly from whole wheat flour with palmolein oil and a small cheese seasoning. It scores CA4: average on nutrition for modest protein and fibre, a plain ingredient list with no additives, and high risk because of saturated fat and sodium. A snack for now and then, in a small portion.
Ingredients, decoded
4 listed- Whole Wheat Flour (78%)
- Refined Palmolein Oil (16%)
- Seasoning (4%)
- Whey Powder
- Maltodextrin
- Cheese
- Sugar
- Glucose solids
- Refined Palmolein Oil
- Yeast Extract
- Natural Spices Extract Colour
- Iodised Salt (2%)

1 teaspoon of sugar in every 100 g · 3.9 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 486 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 8.8 g |
| Carbohydrates | 66.3 g |
| Total sugars | 3.9 g |
| Added sugars | 0.67 g |
| Dietary fibre | 6.8 g |
| Total fat | 20.7 g |
| Saturated fat | 9.7 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 769 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Charliee Cheese Khakhra
Whole wheat crisps with a heavy fat and salt load
Charliee Cheese Khakhra is a roasted wheat cracker snack sold in a 150 g pack. It is built from whole wheat flour (78%), refined palmolein oil (16%), a 4% seasoning of whey powder, maltodextrin, cheese, sugar, glucose solids, more palmolein oil, yeast extract and a natural spice colour, and iodised salt (2%). It is bought as a tea-time or travel snack.
A 30 g serve is 4 pieces, and the pack holds 5 of them. One serve gives 146 kcal, 2.6 g protein and 2.0 g fibre, with 6.2 g fat, 2.9 g saturated fat and 231 mg sodium. Per 100 g that is 486 kcal, 8.8 g protein, 6.8 g fibre, 9.7 g saturated fat and 769 mg sodium. Added sugar is low at 0.67 g per 100 g.
The name and the front promise cheese, and cheese is in the seasoning, but the pack gives no percentage for it and it sits behind whey powder and maltodextrin. The list has no additives, no hydrogenated fat and no dye, and trans fat is 0 g. CleanPlate scores it CA4.
Why Charliee Cheese Khakhra scores CA4
Nutrition is a C on modest protein and 6.8 g fibre per 100 g. Ingredients are an A with no additives, and risk is a 4 because of 9.7 g saturated fat and 769 mg sodium per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 8.8 g
- Fibre
- 6.8 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 486 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 8.8 g per 100 g and fibre is 6.8 g. In a 30 g serve that is 2.6 g protein and 2.0 g fibre. The largest protein source is the whole wheat flour, which is a plant protein of lower quality, so the protein earns only a half credit.
No vitamins or minerals are declared in the values used, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Clean, minimally processed
- Base
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Main fat
- Refined Palmolein Oil
- Sweeteners
- Seasoning
- Additives
- 0
- Flagged
- Palmolein, Maltodextrin
02 Ingredient integrity: why A
The list is short and mostly whole wheat flour (78%), with palmolein oil, a small seasoning and salt. No additive of concern is listed, and no hydrogenated fat, so the declared 0 g trans fat is accepted.
The one cost is a label point: cheese is stressed in the name, but its percentage is not declared. The seasoning also leans on whey powder, maltodextrin, sugar, glucose solids and yeast extract, but these are small at 4% of the whole.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 0.67 g
- Sodium
- 769 mg
- Saturated fat
- 9.7 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Sodium and saturated fat drive the risk number almost equally. Sodium is 769 mg per 100 g, about 231 mg per serve. Saturated fat is 9.7 g per 100 g, about 2.9 g per serve, nearly twice the 5 g high line.
Energy adds to it at 486 kcal per 100 g, or 146 kcal per serve. Added sugar is 0.67 g per 100 g and trans fat is 0 g, so neither plays a real part.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High sodium (769mg per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (9.7g)
- −Red flag: Palm oil listed
- −Red flag: Contains Maltodextrin
Green flags
- +Green flag: High fibre (6.8g)
Does Charliee Cheese Khakhra live up to its claims?
The no trans fat and no cholesterol claims hold, with 0 g of each declared. The cheese in the name is real but its share is not stated, so it only partly holds.
- Product namePartly true
“Cheese Khakhra”
Cheese is listed inside the 4% seasoning, after whey powder and maltodextrin, and its own percentage is not declared. Whole wheat flour is 78% of the pack.
- On the packHolds
“No Trans Fat”
Trans fat is declared as 0 g per 100 g, and no hydrogenated fat is listed.
- On the packHolds
“No Cholesterol”
Cholesterol is declared as 0 mg. The fat is palmolein oil, but it still brings 9.7 g saturated fat per 100 g.
- On the packHolds
“No Onion, Garlic, Asafoetida, Potato”
None of the four appears in the ingredient list.
- Retail listingBe careful
“Guilt-free munching”
Sugar is low, but one 30 g serve has 2.9 g saturated fat and 231 mg sodium, so portion size still matters.
What's in Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
Whole wheat flour (78%) and palmolein oil (16%) lead the list, with a small seasoning and salt. Watch the saturated fat and the sodium.
The ingredient list, read for you
Whole wheat flour (78%) leads, followed by refined palmolein oil (16%), which gives the crisp texture and most of the fat. The 4% seasoning carries the cheese flavour through whey powder, maltodextrin, cheese, sugar, glucose solids, more palmolein oil, yeast extract and a natural spice colour. Iodised salt is 2%.
Ingredients to watch
- Saturated fatConcern
9.7 g per 100 g, from palmolein oil. One 30 g serve has 2.9 g.
- SodiumConcern
769 mg per 100 g, about 231 mg per serve, from the 2% iodised salt and the seasoning.
- Cheese share not statedWorth watching
Cheese is stressed in the name but has no declared percentage, which costs a label point.
- Seasoning fillersWorth watching
Maltodextrin, sugar, glucose solids and whey powder lead the seasoning, but at 4% of the pack they add little.
- Whole wheat baseFine
Whole wheat flour is 78%, with 6.8 g fibre per 100 g and no additives of concern.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared in the values used.
- No percentage is given for the cheese.
Who should eat Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
An occasional snack for most adults and children, and rarely for anyone watching blood pressure, since one 30 g serve has 231 mg sodium.
- Most adultsOccasionally
One serve has 2.9 g saturated fat and 231 mg sodium.
- ChildrenOccasionally
Saturated fat of 9.7 g per 100 g and salty seasoning, with only 2.6 g protein per serve.
- High blood pressureRarely
769 mg sodium per 100 g, and the pack holds five servings.
- Weight managementOccasionally
146 kcal per 30 g serve, 486 kcal per 100 g, and easy to over-eat.
Charliee Cheese Khakhra: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
Charliee Cheese Khakhra is a roasted wheat cracker snack, made mostly from whole wheat flour with palmolein oil and a small cheese seasoning. It scores CA4: average on nutrition for modest protein and fibre, a plain ingredient list with no additives, and high risk because of saturated fat and sodium. A snack for now and then, in a small portion. Nutrition C, ingredients A, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
Per 100 g, Charliee Cheese Khakhra has 486 kcal, 8.8 g protein, 66.3 g carbohydrate, 20.7 g fat and 9.7 g saturated fat. One serve (4 pieces, 30 g) has 146 kcal and 2.6 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
4 ingredients, in label order: Whole Wheat Flour (78%), Refined Palmolein Oil (16%), Seasoning (4%) (Whey Powder, Maltodextrin, Cheese, Sugar, Glucose solids, Refined Palmolein Oil, Yeast Extract, Natural Spices Extract Colour), Iodised Salt (2%). Flagged: Palmolein (low concern), Maltodextrin (low concern).
Does Charliee Cheese Khakhra live up to its claims?
5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care. "Cheese Khakhra" is partly true: Cheese is listed inside the 4% seasoning, after whey powder and maltodextrin, and its own percentage is not declared. Whole wheat flour is 78% of the pack. "Guilt-free munching" needs care: Sugar is low, but one 30 g serve has 2.9 g saturated fat and 231 mg sodium, so portion size still matters.
Who should limit Charliee Cheese Khakhra?
Most adults: occasionally. One serve has 2.9 g saturated fat and 231 mg sodium. Children: occasionally. Saturated fat of 9.7 g per 100 g and salty seasoning, with only 2.6 g protein per serve. High blood pressure: rarely. 769 mg sodium per 100 g, and the pack holds five servings.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Charliee Cheese Khakhra have?
Per 100 g, Charliee Cheese Khakhra has 0.67 g added sugar, 769 mg sodium (about 1.9 g salt) and 9.7 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in salt and saturated fat.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | CA4 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
