Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink

Published · Last updated

A realistic serve of Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink (1 can, 330 ml) has 59 kcal, 0 g protein, 14.2 g carbohydrate, 0 g fat, 14.2 g added sugar and 66 mg sodium. Per 100 ml it has 18 kcal, 0 g protein, 4.3 g carbohydrate, 0 g fat, 0 g saturated fat, 4.3 g added sugar and 20 mg sodium.

Summary

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour is a fizzy soft drink sweetened with both sugar and two artificial sweeteners, and it contains caffeine. It scores EC4: nutrition is empty because it has no protein, fibre or vitamins, ingredients lose points for caramel colour, sweeteners and unspecified flavouring, and risk is high because of the sugar and caffeine. Best kept as an occasional can.

Full summary

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink scores EC4 on CleanPlate: nutrition E, ingredients C, load risk 4.

100%

Tap a slice or a name to see what it is made of.

Share of calories, per 100 ml

  • Sugars: 4.3 g per 100 ml, 100% of the calories, of which 4.3 g is added.
Added sugar4.3 g
Saturated fat0 g
Sodium20 mg

The tick is the “high” line

Watch
Contains Aspartame; Contains Caramel Colour (Class IV)
In its favour
Low sodium
On the pack
4 claims checked: 2 hold, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care

Last reviewed October 31, 2026

Ingredients, decoded

8 listed
High concernModerate concernLow concernNo concernIn label order. Tap a highlighted one to learn more. How we rate additives
Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink pack, front view

1 teaspoon of sugar in every 100 ml · 4.3 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon

Score and nutrition facts for Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink:

Nutrition per 100 ml
ENutrition densityCIngredient integrity4Load risk
Nutrition facts
Energy18 kcal
Protein0 g
Carbohydrates4.3 g
Total sugars4.3 g
Added sugars4.3 g
Total fat0 g
Saturated fat0 g
Sodium20 mg
Highlighted values exceed the FSSAI and UK front of pack thresholds.

Think this score is wrong?

Why Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink scores EC4

Nutrition is an E because there is no protein, fibre or vitamins. Ingredients are a C, with caramel colour and two sweeteners costing points. Risk is a 4, driven by 4.3 g sugar per 100 ml and caffeine.

How we score →
01 Nutrition densityA to E
E

Very low nutrient density

Protein
0 g
Fibre
Not declared
Vitamins and minerals
None declared
Energy
18 kcal

01 Nutrition density: why E

Protein is 0 g, fibre is 0 g and no vitamins or minerals are declared, so nothing earns credit. The 18 kcal per 100 ml come entirely from sugar, which is why the grade sits at the bottom.

Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.

02 Ingredient integrityA to E
C

Mixed processing and additives

Base
Carbonated Water
Sweeteners
Sugar, Sweeteners
Additives
1
Flagged
Caramel Colour (Class IV), Aspartame

02 Ingredient integrity: why C

The list is simple but industrial: carbonated water, sugar, caramel colour, phosphoric acid, two sweeteners, a preservative and flavourings. Caramel colour E150d, aspartame (951) and acesulfame K (950) each cost ingredient points, and so does the flavouring, whose class is not stated.

Potassium sorbate (202) costs nothing. No percentages are given for any ingredient, and no hydrogenated fat is listed. The pack claims no hollow promise, so there is no label-integrity penalty.

Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.

03 Load risk1 to 5
4

High risk

Added sugar
4.3 g
Sodium
20 mg
Saturated fat
0 g

03 Load risk: why 4

Sugar is the main driver: 4.3 g of added sugar per 100 ml, about 14 g in a can. Sodium is 20 mg per 100 ml, and saturated fat and trans fat are 0 g, so they add little.

Because the drink contains caffeine, the risk grade has a floor, which lands it at a 4 even though the sugar per 100 ml is modest. The amount of caffeine is not declared.

Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.

Red flags

  • Red flag: Contains Aspartame
  • Red flag: Contains Caramel Colour (Class IV)
  • Red flag: Contains Acesulfame Potassium

Green flags

  • Green flag: Low sodium

Does Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink live up to its claims?

The sugar and sweeteners wording holds, and the fruit flavour name is only a flavour. The retailer page's no artificial sweeteners line conflicts with aspartame and acesulfame K on the pack.

  • On the pack

    “Sparkling Fruit Flavour”

    Partly true

    The name is an honest flavour description, but no fruit is listed. The taste comes from flavourings whose class is not stated.

  • On the pack

    “Soft Drink With Sugar And Sweeteners”

    Holds

    Sugar is the second ingredient, at 4.3 g per 100 ml, and aspartame and acesulfame K are both listed.

  • On the pack

    “Contains a Source of Phenylalanine”

    Holds

    This matches the aspartame in the ingredient list.

  • Retail listing

    “No artificial sweeteners”

    Be careful

    The retailer page says no artificial sweeteners, but the pack lists aspartame and acesulfame K as sweeteners.

What's in Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

Carbonated water and sugar lead the list, followed by caramel colour, phosphoric acid, two sweeteners, a preservative and flavourings with caffeine. The sweeteners, caramel colour and sugar are what to watch.

How we rate additives →

8 ingredients listed. Additives and watched ingredients we rate: 1 moderate concern, 2 low concern, 1 no concern.

The ingredient list, read for you

Carbonated water and sugar come first, so the drink is sweet water with fizz. Caramel colour E150d gives the dark colour and phosphoric acid the sharp tang. Aspartame and acesulfame K add sweetness on top of the sugar, potassium sorbate preserves it, and the flavourings include caffeine.

What the additives do

Aspartame (moderate concern): calorie-free sweetness. An artificial sweetener classified by IARC in 2023 as possibly carcinogenic. People with phenylketonuria must avoid it. More on Aspartame.

Caramel Colour (Class IV) (low concern): dark brown colour. Sulphite ammonia caramel, the brown colour in colas and sauces. It can contain 4-MEI, a by-product IARC lists as possibly carcinogenic. More on Caramel Colour (Class IV).

Acesulfame Potassium (low concern): calorie-free sweetness. An artificial sweetener (Ace-K) around 200 times sweeter than sugar, often blended with sucralose or aspartame. More on Acesulfame Potassium.

Potassium Sorbate (no concern): stops mould and yeast. A widely used preservative against mould and yeast. Low toxicity. More on Potassium Sorbate.

Ingredients to watch

  • Added sugarConcern

    4.3 g per 100 ml, about 14 g in one can, and it supplies all the calories.

  • Aspartame and acesulfame KConcern

    Two artificial sweeteners sit alongside the sugar. Both cost ingredient points.

  • Caffeine in the flavouringsWorth watching

    Caffeine is listed, but the amount is not declared. It matters most for children, teens and pregnancy.

  • Caramel colour E150dWorth watching

    A sulphite ammonia caramel used only for colour. It costs ingredient points.

  • Sodium and fatFine

    20 mg sodium per 100 ml and no fat, so neither adds to the risk.

What it doesn’t have

  • No fruit is listed, despite the fruit flavour name.
  • The caffeine amount is not declared.

What to know about Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink

A sugared fizzy drink that also uses two sweeteners

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour is a 330 ml canned soft drink made of carbonated water, sugar, caramel colour (E150d), phosphoric acid, two sweeteners (aspartame and acesulfame K), potassium sorbate as a preservative, and flavourings including caffeine. No percentages are declared. It is bought as a chilled, sweet, distinctive-tasting fizzy drink.

Per 100 ml the drink has 18 kcal, 4.3 g sugar (all added) and 20 mg sodium, with no protein, fat or fibre. One 330 ml can works out at about 59 kcal, 14 g sugar and 66 mg sodium. Nothing in the panel adds nutrition: the calories are the sugar.

The name promises a fruit flavour, but the list names no fruit, only flavourings with the class not stated. The pack says plainly that it is a soft drink with sugar and sweeteners, while the retailer page says no artificial sweeteners, which the ingredient list contradicts. CleanPlate scores it EC4.

Who should eat Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

An occasional drink for most adults, and rarely for children and teens. Anyone pregnant or with a heart condition should treat the undeclared caffeine with care.

  • Most adultsOccasionally

    About 14 g sugar and 59 kcal per can, with no nutrition.

  • Children and teensRarely

    Sugar, two sweeteners and caffeine in one can.

  • PregnancyCheck with your doctor

    Caffeine is listed but the amount is not declared.

  • Heart conditionsOccasionally

    Sodium is low at 66 mg per can, but the sugar and caffeine count.

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink: common questions

Is Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink healthy?

Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink is not high in sugar, salt or saturated fat, but its ingredients and score count against it, so occasional and moderate intake is fine and won't affect your health in any major way, but it shouldn't be a frequent treat.

How many calories and how much protein are in Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

Per 100 ml, Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink has 18 kcal, 0 g protein, 4.3 g carbohydrate, 0 g fat and 0 g saturated fat. One serve (1 can, 330 ml) has 59 kcal and 0 g protein.

What are the ingredients in Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

8 ingredients, in label order: Carbonated Water, Sugar, Colour (Caramel E150d), Acid (Phosphoric Acid), Sweeteners (Aspartame, Acesulfame K), Preservative (Potassium Sorbate), Flavourings Including Caffeine. Flagged: Caramel Colour (Class IV) (low concern), Aspartame (moderate concern).

Does Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink live up to its claims?

4 claims checked: 2 hold, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care. "Sparkling Fruit Flavour" is partly true: The name is an honest flavour description, but no fruit is listed. The taste comes from flavourings whose class is not stated. "No artificial sweeteners" needs care: The retailer page says no artificial sweeteners, but the pack lists aspartame and acesulfame K as sweeteners.

Who should limit Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

Most adults: occasionally. About 14 g sugar and 59 kcal per can, with no nutrition. Children and teens: rarely. Sugar, two sweeteners and caffeine in one can. Pregnancy: check with your doctor. Caffeine is listed but the amount is not declared.

How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink have?

Per 100 ml, Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink has 4.3 g added sugar, 20 mg sodium (about 0.1 g salt) and 0 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 5 g added sugar, 300 mg sodium and 2.5 g saturated fat per 100 ml. It is under all three lines.

What does the EC4 score mean for Dr Pepper Sparkling Fruit Flavour Soft Drink?

The first letter (E) grades nutrition density on A to E, the second (C) grades ingredient integrity on A to E, and the number (4) grades load risk on 1 to 5. A and 1 are best. Nutrition: Protein is 0 g, fibre is 0 g and no vitamins or minerals are declared, so nothing earns credit. The 18 kcal per 100 ml come entirely from sugar, which is why the grade sits at the bottom. Ingredients: The list is simple but industrial: carbonated water, sugar, caramel colour, phosphoric acid, two sweeteners, a preservative and flavourings. Caramel colour E150d, aspartame (951) and acesulfame K (950) each cost ingredient points, and so does the flavouring, whose class is not stated. Load risk: Sugar is the main driver: 4.3 g of added sugar per 100 ml, about 14 g in a can. Sodium is 20 mg per 100 ml, and saturated fat and trans fat are 0 g, so they add little.

Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .

Reference values: FSSAI labelling regulations, Codex Alimentarius, ICMR-NIN and the UK front of pack guidance. Where our label data comes from.

Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.

Score history (1)
DateScoreMethodWhy
31 October 2026EC4v5.0First scored

Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.

Better Carbonated Beverages

All Carbonated Beverages →