Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee
Published
Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee is an instant three-in-one powder of sugar, glucose syrup, milk solids and a modest share of coffee, meant to be stirred into hot water. It scores EC4: nutrition is lowest because sugar and syrup dominate, ingredients lose points for hydrogenated fat, flavouring and phosphates, and risk is high on sugar. Best as an occasional café-style treat.
Ingredients, decoded
8 listed- Sugar
- Glucose Syrup
- Milk Solids
- Soluble Coffee Powder (11%)
- Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat (Coconut)
- Nature Identical Flavours
- Stabilizers (Ins 340, Ins 339 (ii), Ins 339 (iii))
- Maltodextrin

9½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 46.9 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 396.6 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 9.2 g |
| Carbohydrates | 80.7 g |
| Total sugars | 46.9 g |
| Added sugars | 36 g |
| Total fat | 4.1 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.2 g |
| Trans fat | 0.1 g |
| Cholesterol | 156.3 mg |
| Sodium | 156.9 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee
A cappuccino premix that is mostly sugar and syrup
A 100 g box of five 20 g sachets of instant cappuccino premix. The list starts with sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids, then soluble coffee powder (11%), hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut), nature-identical flavours, stabilizers (340, 339) and maltodextrin. It is bought by people who want a café-style cup with no equipment, just hot water.
One 20 g sachet makes a mug with 120 ml of hot water and gives 79 kcal, 1.84 g protein, 7.2 g added sugar and 31 mg sodium. Per 100 g the powder has 396.6 kcal, 46.9 g total sugar and 3.23 g saturated fat. The protein, 9.2 g per 100 g, comes mostly from milk solids.
The front promises a bold, creamy 3 in 1, and the list does show coffee, milk solids and sugar. But coffee is only 11% of the powder, and the creaminess leans on hydrogenated coconut fat, which is listed with no partly or fully qualifier and so is scored as a partially hydrogenated oil. CleanPlate scores it EC4.
Why Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee scores EC4
Nutrition is an E: 36 g added sugar per 100 g and no fibre or micronutrients declared. Ingredients are a C because of hydrogenated fat, flavouring and phosphates, and risk is a 4, driven mainly by sugar.
Very low nutrient density
- Protein
- 9.2 g
- Fibre
- Not declared
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 397 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why E
Protein is 9.2 g per 100 g, mostly from milk solids, but with 396.6 kcal and 46.9 g total sugar per 100 g it earns no credit in the grade. No fibre is declared.
No vitamins or minerals are declared either, so nothing lifts the nutrition grade off the bottom.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Mixed processing and additives
- Base
- Sugar
- Main fat
- Hydrogenated Vegetable...
- Sweeteners
- 3 types
- Additives
- 2
- Flagged
- Maltodextrin
02 Ingredient integrity: why C
Sugar and glucose syrup lead the list, followed by milk solids and then soluble coffee powder at 11%. Only the coffee has a declared percentage.
Hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut) has no partly or fully qualifier, so it is scored as a partially hydrogenated oil, which costs ingredient points. Trans fat is declared at 0.1 g per 100 g, but that figure is not accepted until the maker confirms the type of hydrogenation.
Nature-identical flavours and the phosphate stabilizers (340 and 339) also cost ingredient points. Nothing on the front is a hollow promise, so there is no label-integrity penalty.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 36 g
- Sodium
- 156.9 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3.2 g
- Trans fat
- 0.1 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Sugar is the biggest part of the risk number: 35.96 g added sugar per 100 g, about 7.2 g in one sachet. Energy at 396.6 kcal per 100 g is next.
Saturated fat is 3.23 g per 100 g and sodium is 156.9 mg per 100 g, so they add little. Trans fat, at 0.1 g per 100 g as declared, adds a small amount. Together this lands on a 4.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High added sugar (36g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Contains Maltodextrin
Green flags
Nothing stands out in its favour.
Does Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee live up to its claims?
The 3 in 1 and just-add-hot-water claims hold. The coffee itself is a small part: soluble coffee powder is 11% of the powder, behind sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids.
- On the packPartly true
“Instant Premix Coffee”
Soluble coffee powder is a real ingredient, but it is only 11% of the powder. Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids all come before it.
- On the packHolds
“3 in 1”
Coffee, milk solids and sugar are all in the list, so the coffee, creamer and sweetener are combined in one sachet.
- On the packBe careful
“Bold & Creamy”
The creaminess comes from milk solids and hydrogenated coconut fat, with flavouring added. Coffee is 11% of the powder, so how bold it tastes depends on the sweet base.
- On the packHolds
“Just Add Hot Water”
The pack says to stir one sachet into 120 ml of hot water, with nothing else needed.
What's in Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids lead, with coffee at 11%. The hydrogenated fat and the added sugar are what to watch.
The ingredient list, read for you
Sugar and glucose syrup come first, so the powder is mostly sweetener. Milk solids follow, then soluble coffee powder at 11%. Hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut) gives the creamy body, nature-identical flavours add the taste, the stabilizers (340, 339) keep the powder dissolving evenly, and maltodextrin is a bulking carbohydrate. Only the coffee has a declared percentage.
Ingredients to watch
- Hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut), type not statedConcern
Listed with no partly or fully qualifier, so it is scored as a partially hydrogenated oil. Trans fat is declared at 0.1 g per 100 g, but the type of hydrogenation is not confirmed.
- Added sugarConcern
35.96 g per 100 g, about 7.2 g in one 20 g sachet. Sugar and glucose syrup are the first two ingredients.
- Phosphate stabilizersWorth watching
340 and 339 (ii) and (iii) are listed, and they cost points in the ingredient grade.
- Nature-identical flavoursWorth watching
Added for the cappuccino taste. They cost ingredient points.
- Protein from milk solidsFine
9.2 g per 100 g, about 1.84 g per sachet, from milk solids.
What it doesn’t have
- No fibre, vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
- No percentages are given for sugar, glucose syrup or milk solids, and the caffeine content is not stated.
Who should eat Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
An occasional cup for most adults. Children, and anyone with a heart condition, should have it rarely, and pregnancy calls for a check with a doctor.
- Most adultsOccasionally
7.2 g added sugar and hydrogenated fat in each small mug.
- Children and teensRarely
Hydrogenated fat, sweetness and coffee in one sachet, with little else of value.
- PregnancyCheck with your doctor
It contains coffee, and the caffeine amount is not declared.
- Heart conditionsRarely
Partially hydrogenated fat is scored in, and 7.2 g added sugar per sachet.
Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee is an instant three-in-one powder of sugar, glucose syrup, milk solids and a modest share of coffee, meant to be stirred into hot water. It scores EC4: nutrition is lowest because sugar and syrup dominate, ingredients lose points for hydrogenated fat, flavouring and phosphates, and risk is high on sugar. Best as an occasional café-style treat. Nutrition E, ingredients C, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
Per 100 g, Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee has 397 kcal, 9.2 g protein, 80.7 g carbohydrate, 4.1 g fat and 3.2 g saturated fat. One serve (1 sachet, 20 g) has 79 kcal and 1.8 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
8 ingredients, in label order: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Milk Solids, Soluble Coffee Powder (11%), Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat (Coconut), Nature Identical Flavours, Stabilizers (Ins 340, Ins 339 (ii), Ins 339 (iii)), Maltodextrin. Flagged: Maltodextrin (low concern).
Does Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee live up to its claims?
4 claims checked: 2 hold, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care. "Instant Premix Coffee" is partly true: Soluble coffee powder is a real ingredient, but it is only 11% of the powder. Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids all come before it. "Bold & Creamy" needs care: The creaminess comes from milk solids and hydrogenated coconut fat, with flavouring added. Coffee is 11% of the powder, so how bold it tastes depends on the sweet base.
Who should limit Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee?
Most adults: occasionally. 7.2 g added sugar and hydrogenated fat in each small mug. Children and teens: rarely. Hydrogenated fat, sweetness and coffee in one sachet, with little else of value. Pregnancy: check with your doctor. It contains coffee, and the caffeine amount is not declared.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee have?
Per 100 g, Sleepy Owl Cappuccino Premix Coffee has 36 g added sugar, 157 mg sodium (about 0.4 g salt) and 3.2 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar.
Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 29 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 29 October 2026 | EC4 | v5.0 | History starts here |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Tea & Coffee Premixes
All Tea & Coffee Premixes →- Amulya Dairy Whitener
- −Red flag: High added sugar (18g per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (12g)
- Brooke Bond Red Label Instant Masala Chai Premix
- +Green flag: No added sugar
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- Girnar Low Sugar Masala Chai Instant Tea Premix
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- +Green flag: No additives
- Brooke Bond Red Label Instant Ginger Chai Premix
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- +Green flag: No additives



