Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee
Published · Updated
Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee is an instant sachet mix of sugar, glucose syrup, milk solids and a little coffee. It scores [L]EC4: low on nutrition as it is mostly sugar, middling on ingredients for hydrogenated fat, phosphates and flavour-only hazelnut, and high on risk from sugar. Best kept as an occasional treat, not a daily cup.
Ingredients, decoded
8 listed- Sugar
- Glucose Syrup
- Milk Solids
- Soluble Coffee Powder (11%)
- Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat (Coconut)
- Nature Identical Flavours (Hazelnut)
- Stabilizers (INS 340, INS 339 (ii), INS 339 (iii))
- Maltodextrin

9½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 46.9 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 396.6 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 9.2 g |
| Carbohydrates | 80.7 g |
| Total sugars | 46.9 g |
| Added sugars | 36 g |
| Total fat | 4.1 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.2 g |
| Trans fat | 0.1 g |
| Cholesterol | 156.3 mg |
| Sodium | 156.9 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee
A hazelnut latte with no hazelnut in it
A 3-in-1 instant latte mix sold as five 20 g sachets in a 100 g pack. Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids lead the list, followed by soluble coffee powder (11%), hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut), hazelnut flavouring, phosphate stabilisers and maltodextrin. It is bought by people who want a creamy coffee in seconds: one sachet into 120 ml of hot water.
One 20 g sachet gives about 79 kcal, 1.8 g protein, 7.2 g added sugar and 0.65 g saturated fat. Per 100 g the powder has 396.6 kcal, 36 g added sugar and 9.2 g protein, so most of what you stir in is sugar and glucose syrup, with coffee at 11%.
The name promises hazelnut. The list has none, only nature-identical hazelnut flavour, and that is what sets the [L] flag. The fat that makes it creamy is hydrogenated vegetable fat with no partly or fully qualifier, so it is scored as partially hydrogenated oil. CleanPlate scores it [L]EC4.
Does Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee live up to its claims?
The hazelnut in the name is flavouring only, which sets the [L] flag. The coffee is real but is 11% of the powder, and the retailer page and pack disagree on energy.
- Product nameMisleading
“Hazelnut Latte”
No hazelnut is listed. The hazelnut taste comes from nature-identical flavours.
- Product namePartly true
“Instant Premix Coffee”
The coffee is real, as soluble coffee powder, but it is 11% of the mix. Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids all come ahead of it.
- On the packHolds
“Just Add Hot Water”
Milk solids and fat are already in the powder, so one sachet in 120 ml of hot water makes the cup.
- On the packBe careful
“79.32 kcal per sachet”
The retailer page shows 72.32 kcal per serve, and the pack shows 79.32 kcal. The pack figure matches the fat, carbohydrate and protein on the panel.
Why Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee scores [L]EC4
Nutrition is an E: protein is 9.2 g per 100 g from milk solids and nothing else adds. Ingredients are a C, and risk is a 4 on 36 g added sugar per 100 g.
Very low nutrient density
- Protein
- 9.2 g
- Fibre
- Not declared
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 397 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why E
Protein is 9.2 g per 100 g, about 1.8 g per sachet, almost all from milk solids. That is the only point in its favour.
No fibre, vitamins or minerals are declared, and the carbohydrate is 80.7 g per 100 g, mostly sugar and glucose syrup. Nothing else lifts the grade.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Mixed processing and additives
- Base
- Sugar
- Main fat
- Hydrogenated Vegetable...
- Sweeteners
- 3 types
- Additives
- 2
- Flagged
- Maltodextrin
02 Ingredient integrity: why C
Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids lead the list, with soluble coffee at 11% the only declared percentage. Hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut) has no partly or fully qualifier, so it is scored as partially hydrogenated oil, which costs ingredient points. Trans fat is declared at 0.1 g per 100 g.
Nature-identical flavouring and the phosphate stabilisers (INS 340 and 339) also cost ingredient points. The hazelnut named on the pack is not in the list as an ingredient, only as flavouring, which sets the [L] and costs further points.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 36 g
- Sodium
- 156.9 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3.2 g
- Trans fat
- 0.1 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Sugar is the biggest driver: 36 g of added sugar per 100 g, or 7.2 g in one sachet.
Energy (396.6 kcal per 100 g), saturated fat (3.23 g per 100 g) and sodium (156.9 mg per 100 g) add a smaller share. Per sachet they are about 79 kcal, 0.65 g saturated fat and 31 mg sodium.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
[L] The name or pack claims promise more than the ingredient list delivers. See Claims vs reality.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High added sugar (36g per 100g)
- −Red flag: Contains Maltodextrin
Green flags
Nothing stands out in its favour.
What's in Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids lead the list. Watch the hydrogenated vegetable fat, the phosphate stabilisers and the sugar.
The ingredient list, read for you
Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids come first, so the powder is mainly sweetener and milk. Soluble coffee powder follows at 11%, the only declared percentage. Hydrogenated vegetable fat (coconut) gives the creamy body, nature-identical hazelnut flavour gives the taste, the phosphate stabilisers (INS 340 and 339) keep it mixing smoothly, and maltodextrin is a carbohydrate filler.
Ingredients to watch
- Hydrogenated vegetable fat (type not stated)Concern
No partly or fully qualifier is given, so it is scored as partially hydrogenated oil, which costs ingredient points. Trans fat is declared at 0.1 g per 100 g.
- Added sugarConcern
36 g per 100 g, with sugar and glucose syrup the first two ingredients. One sachet has 7.2 g.
- Hazelnut flavour onlyWorth watching
The hazelnut in the name is nature-identical flavouring, not hazelnut. It costs ingredient points and sets the [L] flag.
- Phosphate stabilisersWorth watching
INS 340 (potassium phosphates) and INS 339 (sodium phosphates) are listed, and each costs ingredient points.
- Soluble coffeeFine
11% of the mix is real soluble coffee powder.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
- No hazelnut is in the ingredient list, only the flavour.
Who should eat Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
An occasional drink for most adults, and rarely for children or anyone with a heart condition, given 7.2 g added sugar and hydrogenated fat in each sachet.
- Most adultsOccasionally
7.2 g added sugar and hydrogenated fat in every 20 g sachet.
- Children and teensRarely
Added sugar, hydrogenated fat and coffee in a sweet cup.
- PregnancyOccasionally
It contains coffee, and the pack does not state caffeine per sachet.
- Heart conditionsRarely
Hydrogenated fat, with 3.23 g saturated fat per 100 g.
Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee is an instant sachet mix of sugar, glucose syrup, milk solids and a little coffee. It scores [L]EC4: low on nutrition as it is mostly sugar, middling on ingredients for hydrogenated fat, phosphates and flavour-only hazelnut, and high on risk from sugar. Best kept as an occasional treat, not a daily cup. Nutrition E, ingredients C, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
Per 100 g, Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee has 397 kcal, 9.2 g protein, 80.7 g carbohydrate, 4.1 g fat and 3.2 g saturated fat. One serve (1 sachet, 20 g) has 79 kcal and 1.8 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
8 ingredients, in label order: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Milk Solids, Soluble Coffee Powder (11%), Hydrogenated Vegetable Fat (Coconut), Nature Identical Flavours (Hazelnut), Stabilizers (INS 340, INS 339 (ii), INS 339 (iii)), Maltodextrin. Flagged: Maltodextrin (low concern).
Does Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee live up to its claims?
4 claims checked: 1 holds, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading. "Hazelnut Latte" is misleading: No hazelnut is listed. The hazelnut taste comes from nature-identical flavours. "Instant Premix Coffee" is partly true: The coffee is real, as soluble coffee powder, but it is 11% of the mix. Sugar, glucose syrup and milk solids all come ahead of it.
Who should limit Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee?
Most adults: occasionally. 7.2 g added sugar and hydrogenated fat in every 20 g sachet. Children and teens: rarely. Added sugar, hydrogenated fat and coffee in a sweet cup. Pregnancy: occasionally. It contains coffee, and the pack does not state caffeine per sachet.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee have?
Per 100 g, Sleepy Owl Hazelnut Latte Premix Coffee has 36 g added sugar, 157 mg sodium (about 0.4 g salt) and 3.2 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | EC4 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Tea & Coffee Premixes
All Tea & Coffee Premixes →- Chaayos Instant Tea Premix (Ginger)
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- +Green flag: No additives
- Amulya Dairy Whitener
- −Red flag: High added sugar (18g per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (12g)
- Brooke Bond Red Label Instant Masala Chai Premix
- +Green flag: No added sugar
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- Girnar Low Sugar Masala Chai Instant Tea Premix
- +Green flag: Low sodium
- +Green flag: No additives



