Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter
Published · Updated
Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter is a peanut spread made mostly of roasted peanuts, with dark chocolate paste, sugar and salt. It scores DA4: nutrition is low because of the sugar and fat load, ingredients are short and clean apart from one emulsifier, and risk is high on energy and saturated fat. Best kept to a spoonful now and then.
Ingredients, decoded
5 listed- Roasted Peanuts (70%)
- Dark Chocolate Paste
- Sugar
- E471
- Sea Salt

3½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 18 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 593 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 22 g |
| Carbohydrates | 33 g |
| Total sugars | 18 g |
| Added sugars | 15 g |
| Dietary fibre | 4 g |
| Total fat | 42 g |
| Saturated fat | 11 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 140 mg |
| Calcium | 72 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter
A 70% peanut spread with chocolate and sugar added
Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter is a 500 g jar of crunchy peanut spread. It is built from roasted peanuts (70%), dark chocolate paste, sugar, the emulsifier E471 and sea salt. It is bought by people who want a chocolate-flavoured spread for bread or smoothies that still has plenty of peanut in it.
Per 100 g it has 593 kcal, 22 g protein, 4 g fibre, 42 g fat and 15 g added sugar. One 36 g serve is 213 kcal, 8 g protein, about 5 g added sugar and 4 g saturated fat. Sodium is low at 140 mg per 100 g.
The pack leads with peanuts and the list is short, so the natural-ingredients line mostly reads true, although E471 is an additive. The PROTEIN 110g on the front is a whole-jar figure, not a serve. CleanPlate scores it DA4.
Why Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter scores DA4
Nutrition is a D, as 593 kcal and 15 g added sugar per 100 g outweigh 22 g protein. Ingredients are an A, held back only by E471. Risk is a 4, driven by energy and 11 g saturated fat.
Low nutrient density
- Protein
- 22 g
- Fibre
- 4 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- Calcium
- Energy
- 593 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why D
Protein is 22 g per 100 g and fibre is 4 g, mostly from the peanuts at 70%. One 36 g serve gives 8 g protein and 1 g fibre. Calcium is the only mineral declared, at 72 mg per 100 g.
Against that, the spread carries 593 kcal, 42 g fat and 15 g added sugar per 100 g. That energy and sugar load holds the nutrition grade at a D despite the protein.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Clean, minimally processed
- Base
- Roasted Peanuts
- Sweeteners
- Sugar
- Additives
- 1
- Flagged
- None
02 Ingredient integrity: why A
The list is five items: roasted peanuts (70%), dark chocolate paste, sugar, E471 and sea salt. Peanuts lead by a wide margin, and there are no flavours, colours, preservatives or hydrogenated fats.
The one additive is E471, mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, which costs ingredient points. Its source is not stated. No label promise is hollow, so nothing else is deducted.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 15 g
- Sodium
- 140 mg
- Saturated fat
- 11 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Energy is the biggest driver of the risk grade: 593 kcal per 100 g, or 213 kcal per 36 g serve. Saturated fat is next at 11 g per 100 g, more than twice the 5 g high line, and about 4 g per serve.
Added sugar is 15 g per 100 g, about 5 g per serve. Sodium is 140 mg per 100 g and trans fat is 0 g, so both add little.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High added sugar (15g per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (11g)
Green flags
- +Green flag: Source of protein (22g)
- +Green flag: Source of fibre
Does Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter live up to its claims?
Zero cholesterol and the chocolate crunchy name hold. The PROTEIN 110g on the front is a whole-jar figure, and natural ingredients needs care because E471 is listed.
- On the packHolds
“Chocolate Crunchy”
Dark chocolate paste is listed second, after peanuts at 70%, and the peanuts are roasted. No percentage is given for the chocolate paste.
- On the packBe careful
“PROTEIN 110g”
The panel shows 22 g protein per 100 g and 8 g per 36 g serve. 110 g is what the whole 500 g jar works out to, not what one serve gives.
- On the packBe careful
“100% natural ingredients used”
Peanuts, chocolate paste, sugar and salt are food ingredients, but E471 is an emulsifier and the pack does not say where it comes from.
- On the packHolds
“Zero cholesterol”
The panel declares 0 mg cholesterol and 0 g trans fat. Saturated fat is still 11 g per 100 g.
What's in Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
Peanuts at 70% lead a five-item list, followed by dark chocolate paste and sugar. The sugar, the saturated fat and the unnamed-source emulsifier are what to watch.
The ingredient list, read for you
Roasted peanuts lead at 70%, so most of the jar is peanut, which supplies the protein, fat and crunch. Dark chocolate paste and sugar follow, with no percentage given for either, and they bring the chocolate taste and the added sugar. E471 is an emulsifier that helps keep the oil blended, and sea salt finishes the list.
Ingredients to watch
- EnergyConcern
593 kcal per 100 g, 213 kcal in a 36 g serve. This is the largest part of the risk grade.
- Saturated fatConcern
11 g per 100 g, over twice the 5 g high line. A serve has about 4 g.
- Added sugarWorth watching
15 g per 100 g from the sugar and chocolate paste, about 5 g per serve.
- E471 (source not stated)Worth watching
An emulsifier that costs ingredient points. It is the only additive in the list.
- Peanuts and proteinFine
70% peanuts, giving 22 g protein and 4 g fibre per 100 g. Sodium is low at 140 mg per 100 g.
What it doesn’t have
- No percentage is given for the dark chocolate paste or the sugar.
Who should eat Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
An occasional spread for most adults, children, and anyone watching heart health, because saturated fat and added sugar both add up.
- Most adultsOccasionally
213 kcal and about 4 g saturated fat in one 36 g serve.
- ChildrenOccasionally
About 5 g added sugar per serve, and the jar contains peanuts.
- Heart healthOccasionally
11 g saturated fat per 100 g, though trans fat and cholesterol are 0.
- Lactose intoleranceOccasionally
No milk ingredient is listed, but the sugar and fat still limit how often.
Recipes with Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter
Spread it on toast or blend a spoonful into a smoothie, and measure the serve, since 36 g is already 213 kcal.
Peanut chocolate toast
Spread one 36 g serve on a slice of bread for 8 g protein and 213 kcal from the spread alone.
Chocolate peanut smoothie
Blend half a serve, about 18 g, with milk and banana to get the flavour for about 107 kcal from the spread.
Stuffed dates or apple slices
Use a thin layer as a dip, since about 5 g added sugar per serve is already in the spread.
Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter is a peanut spread made mostly of roasted peanuts, with dark chocolate paste, sugar and salt. It scores DA4: nutrition is low because of the sugar and fat load, ingredients are short and clean apart from one emulsifier, and risk is high on energy and saturated fat. Best kept to a spoonful now and then. Nutrition D, ingredients A, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
Per 100 g, Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter has 593 kcal, 22 g protein, 33 g carbohydrate, 42 g fat and 11 g saturated fat. One serve (1 serve, 36 g) has 213 kcal and 7.9 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
5 ingredients, in label order: Roasted Peanuts (70%), Dark Chocolate Paste, Sugar, E471, Sea Salt.
Does Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter live up to its claims?
4 claims checked: 2 hold, 2 need care. "PROTEIN 110g" needs care: The panel shows 22 g protein per 100 g and 8 g per 36 g serve. 110 g is what the whole 500 g jar works out to, not what one serve gives. "100% natural ingredients used" needs care: Peanuts, chocolate paste, sugar and salt are food ingredients, but E471 is an emulsifier and the pack does not say where it comes from.
Who should limit Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter?
Most adults: occasionally. 213 kcal and about 4 g saturated fat in one 36 g serve. Children: occasionally. About 5 g added sugar per serve, and the jar contains peanuts. Heart health: occasionally. 11 g saturated fat per 100 g, though trans fat and cholesterol are 0.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter have?
Per 100 g, Swaadly Chocolate Crunchy Peanut Butter has 15 g added sugar, 140 mg sodium (about 0.3 g salt) and 11 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar and saturated fat.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | DA4 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Nut Butters
All Nut Butters →- Jus'Amazin Creamy Unsweetened Almond Butter
- +Green flag: Source of protein (25g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (10g)
- MyFitness All Natural Peanut Butter Crunchy Spread (Unsweetened)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (8.1g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (31.4g)
- Pintola All Natural Creamy Peanut Butter (Unsweetened)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (7g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (30g)
- Pintola All Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (7g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (30g)



