Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos
Published · Updated
Eat Better Co Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos are small balls of dates, almonds and hazelnuts with a little cacao. It scores [L]CB2: middling on nutrition, fairly clean on ingredients apart from the chocolate in the name not being listed, and low on risk because saturated fat is modest and no sugar is added. A handy small sweet, best eaten a laddoo or two at a time.
Ingredients, decoded
7 listed- Dates
- Almonds
- Hazelnuts
- Cacao
- Chia Seeds
- Vanilla Extract
- Sea Salt

6½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 32.2 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 453.4 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 11.8 g |
| Carbohydrates | 53.9 g |
| Total sugars | 32.2 g |
| Added sugars | 0 g |
| Dietary fibre | 9.3 g |
| Total fat | 21.2 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.5 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 28.3 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos
Date-and-nut laddoos, but no chocolate in the list
Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos from Eat Better Co are bite-size balls built from dates (49%), almonds (28%) and hazelnuts (16%), with cacao (4.2%), chia seeds (1.6), vanilla extract (1.2%) and sea salt. A 40 g pack holds four laddoos of 10 g each. They are bought as a sweet that skips refined sugar and flour.
Per 100 g there are 453 kcal, 11.75 g protein, 9.28 g fibre, 21.21 g fat, 3.51 g of it saturated, and 28 mg sodium. Sugar is 32.2 g, all of it natural, with 0 g added. One laddoo gives 45 kcal, about 1.2 g protein and 3.2 g sugar, so the whole pack is about 181 kcal.
The 93% dry fruits and nuts claim is accurate, and so is the sweetened-with-dates one. The name is where it slips: it says chocolate, and the list has cacao but no chocolate. CleanPlate scores it [L]CB2.
Does Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos live up to its claims?
The dates, nuts and no-added-sugar claims hold, though the sugar is 32.2 g per 100 g. The chocolate in the name does not: only 4.2% cacao is listed.
- Product nameMisleading
“Hazelnut & Chocolate”
Hazelnuts are 16% of the laddoo, but no chocolate is listed. The chocolate taste comes from cacao at 4.2%.
- On the packHolds
“Made with 93% Dry fruits & nuts”
Dates 49%, almonds 28% and hazelnuts 16% add up to 93%.
- On the packBe careful
“No added sugars*”
Added sugar is 0 g, but total sugar is 32.2 g per 100 g, about 3.2 g per laddoo. The pack's footnote says it occurs naturally, from dates.
- On the packHolds
“Only 45 calories per laddoo”
A 10 g laddoo has about 45 kcal. The 40 g pack has about 181 kcal.
- On the packHolds
“Sweetened with dates”
Dates are the largest ingredient at 49%, and no other sweetener is listed.
Why Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos scores [L]CB2
Nutrition is a C on 11.75 g protein and 9.28 g fibre per 100 g, with no vitamins declared. Ingredients are a B but lose points for the missing chocolate. Risk is a 2, mainly from 453 kcal per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 11.8 g
- Fibre
- 9.3 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 453 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 11.75 g per 100 g and fibre 9.28 g, mostly from almonds, hazelnuts and chia. In one 10 g laddoo that is about 1.2 g protein and 0.9 g fibre.
No vitamins or minerals are declared, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone, and 453 kcal per 100 g keeps it at the middle.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Good, few concerning additives
- Base
- Dates
- Sweeteners
- None added
- Additives
- 0
- Flagged
- None
02 Ingredient integrity: why B
The list is short and whole-food based: dates, almonds, hazelnuts, cacao, chia, vanilla extract and salt, with most percentages given. That is why the grade stays high.
Two things cost ingredient points. The vanilla extract is a flavouring whose class is not stated, which costs a small amount. The bigger cost is the name: it says chocolate, and no chocolate is in the list, only cacao at 4.2%. That sets the [L] flag.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
Low risk
- Added sugar
- 0 g
- Sodium
- 28.3 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3.5 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 2
Energy is the largest part of the risk number: 453 kcal per 100 g. Saturated fat is 3.51 g per 100 g, under the 5 g high line, and sodium is only 28 mg.
Added sugar is 0 g, so sugar adds nothing to the risk number. Trans fat is 0 g and no hydrogenated fat is listed. Risk lands on a 2.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
[L] The name or pack claims promise more than the ingredient list delivers. See Claims vs reality.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High sugar (32.2g per 100g)
Green flags
- +Green flag: High fibre (9.3g)
- +Green flag: No added sugar
- +Green flag: Low sodium
What's in Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
Dates, almonds and hazelnuts make up 93% of a short list. The things to watch are the missing chocolate, the energy density and the unstated flavouring class.
The ingredient list, read for you
Dates lead at 49%, then almonds at 28% and hazelnuts at 16%, so the laddoo is mostly dried fruit and nuts. Cacao at 4.2% gives the chocolate taste, chia seeds add fibre and bind, vanilla extract is the flavouring at 1.2%, and sea salt is last with no percentage.
Ingredients to watch
- Chocolate in the nameConcern
No chocolate is listed, only cacao at 4.2%. The name promises more than the list delivers, and this costs ingredient points.
- Natural sugarWorth watching
32.2 g per 100 g, from dates, with 0 g added. One laddoo has about 3.2 g.
- Energy densityWorth watching
453 kcal per 100 g, mostly from nuts and dates. Four laddoos, the full pack, are about 181 kcal.
- Flavouring class not statedWorth watching
Vanilla extract is listed without saying whether it is natural only, which costs a small number of ingredient points.
- Nuts, dates and fibreFine
93% dates and nuts, with 11.75 g protein and 9.28 g fibre per 100 g.
- Saturated fat and sodiumFine
3.51 g saturated fat and 28 mg sodium per 100 g, with no trans fat.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
Who should eat Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
A few times a week for most adults, one or two laddoos at a time. People managing blood sugar should check with their doctor, since sugar is 3.2 g per laddoo.
- Most adultsA few times a week
45 kcal per laddoo is modest, but 453 kcal per 100 g adds up fast.
- ChildrenA few times a week
Nuts and dates, no dye or sweetener, but 3.2 g sugar per laddoo and a nut allergen.
- Diabetes or prediabetesCheck with your doctor
Sugar is 32.2 g per 100 g, all from dates, even though none is added.
- Weight managementA few times a week
One laddoo is 45 kcal, but the full pack is about 181 kcal.
Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
Eat Better Co Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos are small balls of dates, almonds and hazelnuts with a little cacao. It scores [L]CB2: middling on nutrition, fairly clean on ingredients apart from the chocolate in the name not being listed, and low on risk because saturated fat is modest and no sugar is added. A handy small sweet, best eaten a laddoo or two at a time. Nutrition C, ingredients B, load risk 2; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
Per 100 g, Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos has 453 kcal, 11.8 g protein, 53.9 g carbohydrate, 21.2 g fat and 3.5 g saturated fat. One serve (1 laddoo, 10 g) has 45 kcal and 1.2 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
7 ingredients, in label order: Dates, Almonds, Hazelnuts, Cacao, Chia Seeds, Vanilla Extract, Sea Salt.
Does Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos live up to its claims?
5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading. "Hazelnut & Chocolate" is misleading: Hazelnuts are 16% of the laddoo, but no chocolate is listed. The chocolate taste comes from cacao at 4.2%. "No added sugars*" needs care: Added sugar is 0 g, but total sugar is 32.2 g per 100 g, about 3.2 g per laddoo. The pack's footnote says it occurs naturally, from dates.
Who should limit Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos?
Most adults: a few times a week. 45 kcal per laddoo is modest, but 453 kcal per 100 g adds up fast. Children: a few times a week. Nuts and dates, no dye or sweetener, but 3.2 g sugar per laddoo and a nut allergen. Diabetes or prediabetes: check with your doctor. Sugar is 32.2 g per 100 g, all from dates, even though none is added.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos have?
Per 100 g, Hazelnut Chocolate Laddoos has 0 g added sugar, 28 mg sodium (about 0.1 g salt) and 3.5 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | CB2 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
More Indian Sweets
All Indian Sweets →- Til Chikki by Charliee
- −Red flag: High added sugar (33.3g per 100g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (17.3g)
- Wonderland Foods Vrat Anjeer Bites
- −Red flag: High added sugar (15.8g per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (18.1g)
- 3 in 1 Chikki
- −Red flag: High sugar (28.6g per 100g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (7.1g)
- Chheda's Peanut Chikki
- −Red flag: High sugar (40g per 100g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (20g)



