The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar

Published

Summary

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar is a cereal bar of chocolate chips, oats, flakes and peanuts, sold as an energy snack with a kick of coffee. It scores [L]CB3: middling on nutrition, solid on ingredients but marked down because the coffee is a small, late-listed part beside a coffee flavour, and moderate on risk. Best as an occasional snack, not a coffee source.

Full summary

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar scores [L]CB3 on CleanPlate: nutrition C, ingredients B, load risk 3.

The [L] flag means the name or pack promises more than the ingredient list delivers.

34%20%34%

Tap a slice or a name to see what it is made of.

Share of calories, per 100 g

  • Protein: 8 g per 100 g, 8% of the calories.
  • Carbs (not counting sugars and fibre): 34.5 g per 100 g, 34% of the calories.
  • Sugars: 20.2 g per 100 g, 20% of the calories, of which 3 g is added.
  • Fat: 15.6 g per 100 g, 34% of the calories, of which 4.8 g is saturated.
  • Fibre: 8.8 g per 100 g, 4% of the calories (fibre counts at 2 kcal per gram).
Added sugar3 g
Saturated fat4.8 g
Sodium97.6 mg

The tick is the “high” line

Watch
No major red flags on the label
In its favour
High fibre (8.8g); Low sodium
On the pack
5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading

Last reviewed October 29, 2026

Ingredients, decoded

15 listed
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Oats
  • Wheat Flakes
  • Rice Crisps
  • Corn Flakes
  • Ragi Flour
  • Peanuts
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Milk Powder
  • Oligo Fructose
  • Coffee Powder
  • Green Coffee Powder
  • Salt
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Coffee Flavour
High concernModerate concernLow concernNo concernIn label order. Tap a highlighted one to learn more. How we rate additives
The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar pack, front view

4 teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 20.2 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon

LPack claim not backed upHigh calories (over 400 kcal per 100 g)Nutrition per 100 g
CNutrition densityBIngredient integrity3Load risk
Nutrition facts
Energy429.7 kcal
Protein8 g
Carbohydrates63.5 g
Total sugars20.2 g
Added sugars3 g
Dietary fibre8.8 g
Total fat15.6 g
Saturated fat4.8 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol0 mg
Sodium97.6 mg
Highlighted values exceed FSSAI and UK FSA front of pack thresholds.

Think this score is wrong?

What to know about The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar

A coffee bar where coffee comes late in the list

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar is a 70 g cereal bar built from chocolate chips, oats, wheat flakes, rice crisps, corn flakes, ragi flour and peanuts, with dark chocolate, milk powder, oligo fructose, coffee powder, green coffee powder, salt, sunflower oil and coffee flavour. It is aimed at people who want a work, gym or travel snack with a caffeine-style hook. No ingredient percentages are declared.

One bar gives about 301 kcal, 5.6 g protein and 6.2 g fibre. Per 100 g that is 429.7 kcal, 8 g protein, 8.8 g fibre, 15.6 g fat and 4.8 g saturated fat. Total sugar is 20.2 g per 100 g, of which 3 g is declared as added sugar. Trans fat is 0 g and no hydrogenated fat is listed.

The pack promises a kick of coffee, but the coffee powders come near the end of the list and a coffee flavour is added on top. That is what sets the [L] flag. The protein, fibre and trans-fat claims are fine. CleanPlate scores it [L]CB3.

Does The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar live up to its claims?

The protein, fibre, trans-fat and preservative claims hold. The coffee promise does not: coffee powder is listed eleventh, after a coffee flavour is added, and the front figures are per bar, not per 100 g.

  • On the pack

    “Kick of Coffee”

    Misleading

    Coffee powder and green coffee powder come near the end of the list, after oligo fructose, and a coffee flavour is added as well. Real coffee is not in the top three ingredients.

  • On the pack

    “Energy 301 kcal, Protein 6g, Fiber 6g”

    Be careful

    These are per-bar figures for a 70 g bar. Per 100 g the panel shows 429.7 kcal, 8 g protein and 8.8 g fibre.

  • On the pack

    “Source of protein”

    Holds

    8 g protein per 100 g, so 5.6 g in one 70 g bar, from oats, peanuts, milk powder and cocoa.

  • On the pack

    “Transfat free”

    Holds

    Trans fat is 0 g per 100 g and no hydrogenated fat is listed.

  • On the pack

    “No chemical preservatives”

    Holds

    No preservative appears in the ingredient list.

Why The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar scores [L]CB3

Nutrition is a C on 8 g protein and 8.8 g fibre per 100 g. Ingredients are a B, held back by the coffee label promise and an unspecified flavouring. Risk is a 3, driven by 4.8 g saturated fat and 430 kcal per 100 g.

How we score →
01 Nutrition densityA to E
C

Adequate nutrient density

Protein
8 g
Fibre
8.8 g
Vitamins and minerals
None declared
Energy
430 kcal

01 Nutrition density: why C

Protein is 8 g per 100 g and fibre is 8.8 g, which in one 70 g bar is 5.6 g protein and 6.2 g fibre. Energy is 429.7 kcal per 100 g, so the bar is dense in calories for what it delivers.

No vitamins or minerals are declared, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone.

Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.

02 Ingredient integrityA to E
B

Good, few concerning additives

Base
Chocolate Chips
Main fat
Sunflower Oil
Sweeteners
Oligo Fructose
Additives
0
Flagged
None

02 Ingredient integrity: why B

The list is mostly whole-grain and cereal based: oats, wheat flakes, rice crisps, corn flakes and ragi flour, with peanuts for protein. Chocolate chips lead it, and no percentages are declared, which costs a small label point.

The flavouring has no class stated and is not marked natural-only, so it costs ingredient points. A coffee flavour is listed while the real coffee is not in the top three ingredients, and that costs further ingredient points and sets the [L] flag.

Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.

03 Load risk1 to 5
3

Moderate risk

Added sugar
3 g
Sodium
97.6 mg
Saturated fat
4.8 g
Trans fat
0 g

03 Load risk: why 3

Saturated fat is 4.8 g per 100 g, just under the 5 g high line, and energy at 429.7 kcal per 100 g is the other large part of the risk number. Together they put risk at a 3.

Sodium is 97.6 mg per 100 g and added sugar is 3 g, so both add little. Trans fat is 0 g. The sugar in the risk number is the declared added sugar, not the 20.2 g total sugar.

Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.

[L] The name or pack claims promise more than the ingredient list delivers. See Claims vs reality.

Red flags

No major red flags on the label.

Green flags

  • Green flag: High fibre (8.8g)
  • Green flag: Low sodium

What's in The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

Chocolate chips, oats and cereal flakes lead the list. Coffee comes late, and the flavouring's type is not stated, so those are the two things to watch.

The ingredient list, read for you

Chocolate chips lead, followed by oats, wheat flakes, rice crisps, corn flakes and ragi flour, so the bar is a pressed mix of cereals and chocolate. Peanuts, dark chocolate and milk powder add protein and richness, and oligo fructose helps bind and sweeten. Coffee powder and green coffee powder come late, followed by salt, sunflower oil and coffee flavour.

No percentages are declared for any ingredient. The pack lists oats (gluten), milk, peanuts and wheat as allergens, and may contain traces of tree nuts and soy.

Ingredients to watch

  • Coffee flavour, class not statedConcern

    The flavouring is not marked natural-only and costs ingredient points. It sits in the list while the real coffee powders come near the end, which sets the [L] flag.

  • Saturated fatWorth watching

    4.8 g per 100 g, just under the 5 g high line. One bar has 3.4 g.

  • SugarWorth watching

    Total sugar is 20.2 g per 100 g, 14.1 g per bar. Only 3 g per 100 g is declared as added sugar.

  • EnergyWorth watching

    429.7 kcal per 100 g, about 301 kcal in one 70 g bar.

  • FibreFine

    8.8 g per 100 g from oats, flakes and ragi, 6.2 g per bar. Trans fat is 0 g.

What it doesn’t have

  • No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
  • No ingredient percentages are given, so the coffee share cannot be checked.

Who should eat The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

A few times a week at most for adults, and occasionally for children and for anyone watching blood sugar, because one bar has 14.1 g total sugar.

  • Most adultsA few times a week

    One bar is about 301 kcal with 3.4 g saturated fat.

  • ChildrenOccasionally

    14.1 g total sugar per bar and a flavouring of unstated class.

  • Diabetes or prediabetesOccasionally

    20.2 g total sugar per 100 g, though added sugar is 3 g.

  • Active peopleA few times a week

    About 301 kcal and 6.2 g fibre per bar, but only 5.6 g protein.

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar: common questions

What is the CleanPlate score of The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar is a cereal bar of chocolate chips, oats, flakes and peanuts, sold as an energy snack with a kick of coffee. It scores [L]CB3: middling on nutrition, solid on ingredients but marked down because the coffee is a small, late-listed part beside a coffee flavour, and moderate on risk. Best as an occasional snack, not a coffee source. Nutrition C, ingredients B, load risk 3; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.

How many calories and how much protein are in The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

Per 100 g, The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar has 430 kcal, 8 g protein, 63.5 g carbohydrate, 15.6 g fat and 4.8 g saturated fat. One serve (1 bar, 70 g) has 301 kcal and 5.6 g protein.

What are the ingredients in The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

15 ingredients, in label order: Chocolate Chips, Oats, Wheat Flakes, Rice Crisps, Corn Flakes, Ragi Flour, Peanuts, Dark Chocolate, Milk Powder, Oligo Fructose, Coffee Powder, Green Coffee Powder, Salt, Sunflower Oil, Coffee Flavour.

Does The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar live up to its claims?

5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading. "Kick of Coffee" is misleading: Coffee powder and green coffee powder come near the end of the list, after oligo fructose, and a coffee flavour is added as well. Real coffee is not in the top three ingredients. "Energy 301 kcal, Protein 6g, Fiber 6g" needs care: These are per-bar figures for a 70 g bar. Per 100 g the panel shows 429.7 kcal, 8 g protein and 8.8 g fibre.

Who should limit The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar?

Most adults: a few times a week. One bar is about 301 kcal with 3.4 g saturated fat. Children: occasionally. 14.1 g total sugar per bar and a flavouring of unstated class. Diabetes or prediabetes: occasionally. 20.2 g total sugar per 100 g, though added sugar is 3 g.

How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar have?

Per 100 g, The Othr. Coffee Energy Bar has 3 g added sugar, 98 mg sodium (about 0.2 g salt) and 4.8 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is under all three lines.

Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .

Label read on 29 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.

Score history (1)
DateScoreMethodWhy
29 October 2026CB3v5.0History starts here

Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.

Better Breakfast Cereals

All Breakfast Cereals →