KurkureNamkeen

Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps

Published

Summary

Kurkure Chilli Chatka is a spiced rice and corn crisp sold as a sharing snack. It scores EB5: nutrition is lowest because there is little protein for the calories, ingredients hold up fairly well with only a few flavour additives, and risk is highest because of the saturated fat, salt and energy. A small handful now and then, not a daily snack.

Full summary

Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps

Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps scores EB5 on CleanPlate: nutrition E, ingredients B, load risk 5.

38%56%

Tap a slice or a name to see what it is made of.

Share of calories, per 100 g

  • Protein: 5.6 g per 100 g, 4% of the calories.
  • Carbs (not counting sugars and fibre): 54.1 g per 100 g, 38% of the calories.
  • Sugars: 2 g per 100 g, 1% of the calories, of which 1.7 g is added.
  • Fat: 35.1 g per 100 g, 56% of the calories, of which 15.8 g is saturated.
Added sugar1.7 g
Saturated fat15.8 g
Sodium716 mg

The tick is the “high” line

Watch
High sodium (716mg per 100g); High saturated fat (15.8g)
On the pack
4 claims checked: 1 holds, 1 is partly true, 2 need care

Last reviewed October 29, 2026

Ingredients, decoded

6 listed
  • Cereal Products (66%)
    • Rice Meal (43%)
    • Corn Meal (23%)
  • Edible Vegetable Oil~
  • *Seasoning
    • Spices and Condiments
    • Sugar
    • Iodised Salt
    • Rice Flour
    • Acidity Regulators (330, 296)
    • Flavour Natural and Nature Identical Flavouring Substances
  • Flavour Enhancers (627, 631)
  • Colour (160c)
  • Gram Meal (0.5%)
High concernModerate concernLow concernNo concernIn label order. Tap a highlighted one to learn more. How we rate additives
Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps pack, front view

½ teaspoon of sugar in every 100 g · 2 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon

High saltHigh saturated fatHigh calories (over 400 kcal per 100 g)Nutrition per 100 g
ENutrition densityBIngredient integrity5Load risk
Nutrition facts
Energy563 kcal
Protein5.6 g
Carbohydrates56.1 g
Total sugars2 g
Added sugars1.7 g
Total fat35.1 g
Saturated fat15.8 g
Trans fat0.1 g
Sodium716 mg
Highlighted values exceed FSSAI and UK FSA front of pack thresholds.

Think this score is wrong?

What to know about Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps

Rice and corn crisps with 35 g fat per 100 g

Kurkure Chilli Chatka is a spiced namkeen crisp built on cereal products at 66% (rice meal 43%, corn meal 23%), then edible vegetable oil, a seasoning of spices, sugar, iodised salt and flavourings, flavour enhancers, a paprika colour and gram meal at 0.5%. It is sold for sharing, travel and party snacking.

A 20 g serve gives 112.6 kcal, 1.12 g protein, 3.16 g saturated fat and 143 mg sodium. Per 100 g that is 563 kcal, 35.1 g fat, 15.8 g saturated fat and 716 mg sodium. Sugar is low, with 1.7 g added sugar per 100 g.

The front says made with rice, corn and dal. Rice and corn are real and lead the list, but the dal is gram meal at just 0.5%. The no artificial colours and flavours line is true for the colour, which is paprika extract, while the flavour is natural and nature-identical. CleanPlate scores it EB5.

Why Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps scores EB5

Nutrition is an E on 5.6 g protein and 563 kcal per 100 g. Ingredients are a B with only a few flavour additives, and risk is a 5 on 15.8 g saturated fat and 716 mg sodium per 100 g.

How we score →
01 Nutrition densityA to E
E

Very low nutrient density

Protein
5.6 g
Fibre
Not declared
Vitamins and minerals
None declared
Energy
563 kcal

01 Nutrition density: why E

Protein is 5.6 g per 100 g, about 4% of the calories, and the main source is rice meal, a low-value protein. Energy is dense at 563 kcal per 100 g, with 35.1 g fat and 56.1 g carbohydrate.

No fibre, vitamins or minerals are declared, so nothing adds to the grade beyond that small amount of protein.

Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.

02 Ingredient integrityA to E
B

Good, few concerning additives

Base
Cereal Products, Corn Meal)
Main fat
Edible Vegetable Oil~
Sweeteners
*Seasoning, Flavo...
Additives
2
Flagged
None

02 Ingredient integrity: why B

Rice meal and corn meal make up 66% of the crisp, and no hydrogenated fat is listed, so the 0.1 g trans fat per 100 g is accepted as declared. The list is short and mostly plain, which keeps this grade up.

Nature-identical flavouring, flavour enhancers 627 and 631, and the paprika colour 160c each cost ingredient points. The acidity regulators, citric acid 330 and malic acid 296, cost none.

Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.

03 Load risk1 to 5
5

Very high risk

Added sugar
1.7 g
Sodium
716 mg
Saturated fat
15.8 g
Trans fat
0.1 g

03 Load risk: why 5

Saturated fat is the biggest driver: 15.8 g per 100 g, over three times the 5 g high line, and about 3.2 g in a 20 g serve. Sodium at 716 mg per 100 g and energy at 563 kcal per 100 g add to it.

Sugar plays almost no part, with 1.7 g added sugar per 100 g. The pack gives a lower saturated fat figure of 8.1 g if the batch uses rice bran oil, but the score uses the higher 15.8 g, since the oil is not stated on the front.

Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.

Red flags

  • Red flag: High sodium (716mg per 100g)
  • Red flag: High saturated fat (15.8g)

Green flags

Nothing stands out in its favour.

Does Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps live up to its claims?

Rice and corn are real, at 66% together, but dal is only 0.5% gram meal. The no artificial flavours claim rests on natural and nature-identical flavouring, and the pack prints two saturated fat values.

  • On the pack

    “Made with Rice, Corn & Dal”

    Partly true

    Rice meal is 43% and corn meal 23%, but dal appears only as gram meal at 0.5%.

  • On the pack

    “No Artificial Colours & Flavours”

    Be careful

    The colour is paprika extract (160c). The flavour is listed as natural and nature-identical flavouring substances, and flavour enhancers 627 and 631 are also present.

  • On the pack

    “Energy 6% of Adult's RDA”

    Holds

    A 20 g serve has 112.6 kcal. The same serve has 143 mg sodium and 3.16 g saturated fat.

  • On the pack

    “Saturated fat 15.8 g or 8.1 g”

    Be careful

    The pack prints two values depending on the oil in the batch: 15.8 g per 100 g with palmolein, 8.1 g with rice bran oil. The score uses 15.8 g.

What's in Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

Rice meal, corn meal and oil lead the list, with a seasoning and a few flavour additives. The saturated fat and the sodium are what to watch.

The ingredient list, read for you

Rice meal (43%) and corn meal (23%) come first, so the crisp is mostly cereal, followed by edible vegetable oil. The seasoning holds spices and condiments, sugar, iodised salt, rice flour, citric acid (330) and malic acid (296) for tang, and natural and nature-identical flavouring.

Flavour enhancers 627 and 631 deepen the savoury taste, paprika extract (160c) gives the colour, and gram meal is last at 0.5%. The oil type is not named: the batch code decides between palmolein and rice bran oil.

Ingredients to watch

  • Saturated fatConcern

    15.8 g per 100 g, about 3.2 g in a 20 g serve. The pack gives 8.1 g if rice bran oil is used, but the oil is not stated on the front.

  • SodiumWorth watching

    716 mg per 100 g, 143 mg in a 20 g serve, and easy to pass with a second handful.

  • Flavour enhancers and flavouringWorth watching

    627, 631 and nature-identical flavouring cost ingredient points. The paprika colour 160c costs one.

  • Added sugarFine

    1.7 g per 100 g, about 0.34 g per serve. Trans fat is 0.1 g and no hydrogenated fat is listed.

What it doesn’t have

  • No fibre, vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.

Who should eat Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

Rarely for most adults, children and anyone watching blood pressure or weight, since 100 g carries 15.8 g saturated fat and 716 mg sodium.

  • Most adultsRarely

    15.8 g saturated fat per 100 g is over three times the high line.

  • ChildrenRarely

    143 mg sodium and 3.2 g saturated fat in a 20 g serve, with little protein.

  • High blood pressureRarely

    716 mg sodium per 100 g, and a second handful doubles the serve's 143 mg.

  • Weight managementRarely

    563 kcal per 100 g, about 113 kcal in a 20 g serve, with 1.12 g protein.

Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps: common questions

What is the CleanPlate score of Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

Kurkure Chilli Chatka is a spiced rice and corn crisp sold as a sharing snack. It scores EB5: nutrition is lowest because there is little protein for the calories, ingredients hold up fairly well with only a few flavour additives, and risk is highest because of the saturated fat, salt and energy. A small handful now and then, not a daily snack. Nutrition E, ingredients B, load risk 5; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.

How many calories and how much protein are in Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

Per 100 g, Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps has 563 kcal, 5.6 g protein, 56.1 g carbohydrate, 35.1 g fat and 15.8 g saturated fat. One serve (20 g serve, as printed on the pack) has 113 kcal and 1.1 g protein.

What are the ingredients in Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

6 ingredients, in label order: Cereal Products (66%) (Rice Meal (43%), Corn Meal (23%)), Edible Vegetable Oil~, *Seasoning (Spices and Condiments, Sugar, Iodised Salt, Rice Flour, Acidity Regulators (330, 296), Flavour Natural and Nature Identical Flavouring Substances), Flavour Enhancers (627, 631), Colour (160c), Gram Meal (0.5%).

Does Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps live up to its claims?

4 claims checked: 1 holds, 1 is partly true, 2 need care. "Made with Rice, Corn & Dal" is partly true: Rice meal is 43% and corn meal 23%, but dal appears only as gram meal at 0.5%. "No Artificial Colours & Flavours" needs care: The colour is paprika extract (160c). The flavour is listed as natural and nature-identical flavouring substances, and flavour enhancers 627 and 631 are also present.

Who should limit Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps?

Most adults: rarely. 15.8 g saturated fat per 100 g is over three times the high line. Children: rarely. 143 mg sodium and 3.2 g saturated fat in a 20 g serve, with little protein. High blood pressure: rarely. 716 mg sodium per 100 g, and a second handful doubles the serve's 143 mg.

How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps have?

Per 100 g, Kurkure Chilli Chatka Crisps has 1.7 g added sugar, 716 mg sodium (about 1.8 g salt) and 15.8 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in salt and saturated fat.

Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .

Label read on 29 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.

Score history (1)
DateScoreMethodWhy
29 October 2026EB5v5.0History starts here

Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.

Better Namkeen

All Namkeen →