MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted)
Published · Updated
MOM California Flavoured Almonds are dry-roasted almonds with a little sunflower oil and salt, sold as a desk-drawer snack. It scores CA4: middling on nutrition despite solid protein and fibre, top marks on ingredients because almost nothing but almonds is in it, and a higher risk grade driven by calories and salt. Best as a small handful rather than a bowl.
Ingredients, decoded
3 listed- California Almonds (98%)
- Edible Vegetable Oil (Sunflower)
- Iodised Salt

1 teaspoon of sugar in every 100 g · 5 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 603 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 21 g |
| Carbohydrates | 23 g |
| Total sugars | 5 g |
| Added sugars | 0 g |
| Dietary fibre | 10 g |
| Total fat | 51 g |
| Saturated fat | 3 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 422 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about MOM California Flavoured Almonds
Almonds with a little oil and salt, dense in calories
A 45 g resealable pack of roasted, salted almonds: California almonds (98%), sunflower oil and iodised salt. It is bought as a tidy, shelf-stable snack for desks, bags and study breaks, by people who want something more filling than a biscuit.
What you get is real: 21 g protein, 10 g fibre and 0 g added sugar per 100 g, with 3 g saturated fat and no trans fat. What it costs is energy and salt. Almonds are dense, at 603 kcal per 100 g, and the salt brings sodium to 422 mg per 100 g. The pack prints a 10 g serve, which is 60 kcal; the whole 45 g pack is about 271 kcal.
The front says dry roasted, never fried, lightly salted, and the list backs most of that up with almonds making up nearly all of the pack. The one thing to note is that sunflower oil is listed, although the amount is not declared. CleanPlate scores it CA4.
Why MOM California Flavoured Almonds scores CA4
Nutrition is a C on 21 g protein and 10 g fibre per 100 g, ingredients are an A for an almost all-almond list, and risk is a 4 because energy is 603 kcal per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 21 g
- Fibre
- 10 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 603 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 21 g per 100 g and fibre is 10 g, almost all from the almonds. In the 10 g serve that is 2.1 g protein and 1 g fibre.
No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Clean, minimally processed
- Base
- California Almonds
- Main fat
- Edible Vegetable Oil
- Sweeteners
- None added
- Additives
- 0
- Flagged
- None
02 Ingredient integrity: why A
The list is three items: California almonds (98%), sunflower oil and iodised salt. There is no sweetener, colour, flavouring, preservative or hydrogenated fat, so no ingredient points are lost to additives.
Every promise on the front can be matched to the list or the panel, so the label costs no ingredient points either.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 0 g
- Sodium
- 422 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Energy is the biggest part of the risk number: 603 kcal per 100 g, about 60 kcal per 10 g serve. Sodium comes next at 422 mg per 100 g, then saturated fat at 3 g per 100 g.
Added sugar is 0 g and trans fat is 0 g, so neither adds anything. The risk grade comes from how concentrated the calories are, so it is mainly a portion question.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
Red flags
No major red flags on the label.
Green flags
- +Green flag: Source of protein (21g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (10g)
- +Green flag: No added sugar
Does MOM California Flavoured Almonds live up to its claims?
Most of the pack's promises stand up: the protein and fibre claim and zero trans fat are backed by the numbers. Dry roasted and never fried are fine as written, but sunflower oil is also listed.
- On the packHolds
“Rich in Dietary Fibre & Protein”
Fibre is 10 g and protein is 21 g per 100 g, so a 10 g serve gives 1 g fibre and 2.1 g protein.
- On the packHolds
“Zero Trans-Fat”
Trans fat is declared as 0 g and no hydrogenated fat is listed.
- On the packHolds
“Lightly Salted”
Sodium is 422 mg per 100 g, about 42 mg in a 10 g serve. Salt is the last ingredient on the list.
- On the packBe careful
“Dry Roasted, Never Fried”
The list also includes sunflower oil, with no amount declared. Almonds are naturally 51 g fat per 100 g, so the oil is a small addition to an already fatty nut.
What's in MOM California Flavoured Almonds?
Almonds at 98% lead a very short list, followed by sunflower oil and iodised salt. Energy density and sodium are the points to watch.
The ingredient list, read for you
Almonds lead at 98%, which is the only percentage declared. Sunflower oil helps the salt cling to the nut and aids roasting, and iodised salt gives the savoury taste. No sweetener, colour, flavouring or preservative is listed.
Ingredients to watch
- Energy densityConcern
603 kcal per 100 g, 60 kcal per 10 g serve and about 271 kcal in the whole 45 g pack. This is the main driver of the risk grade.
- SodiumWorth watching
422 mg per 100 g, about 42 mg in a 10 g serve. Modest per handful, but it rises with the whole pack to about 190 mg.
- Sunflower oil (amount not stated)Worth watching
Listed after the almonds with no percentage. Total fat is 51 g per 100 g, of which saturated fat is 3 g.
- Protein and fibreFine
21 g protein and 10 g fibre per 100 g, from the almonds themselves.
- No added sugar or trans fatFine
Added sugar is 0 g and trans fat is 0 g per 100 g. Total sugar is 5 g, naturally from the nuts.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
- The amount of sunflower oil is not stated.
Who should eat MOM California Flavoured Almonds?
An occasional snack for most adults, with the portion kept small. At 60 kcal per 10 g it adds up quickly if you eat from the pack.
- Most adultsOccasionally
603 kcal per 100 g, so a 10 g handful is 60 kcal and the full pack is about 271 kcal.
- ChildrenOccasionally
Useful protein and fibre, but dense in calories and salted at 422 mg sodium per 100 g. Whole nuts also need age-appropriate care.
- Diabetes or prediabetesOccasionally
0 g added sugar and 5 g total sugar per 100 g, with 23 g carbohydrate, so portion size is the point.
- Weight managementOccasionally
603 kcal per 100 g means calories add up fast; stick to the 10 g serve.
MOM California Flavoured Almonds: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted)?
MOM California Flavoured Almonds are dry-roasted almonds with a little sunflower oil and salt, sold as a desk-drawer snack. It scores CA4: middling on nutrition despite solid protein and fibre, top marks on ingredients because almost nothing but almonds is in it, and a higher risk grade driven by calories and salt. Best as a small handful rather than a bowl. Nutrition C, ingredients A, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted)?
Per 100 g, MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted) has 603 kcal, 21 g protein, 23 g carbohydrate, 51 g fat and 3 g saturated fat. One serve (10 g, the serve printed on the pack) has 60 kcal and 2.1 g protein.
What are the ingredients in MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted)?
3 ingredients, in label order: California Almonds (98%), Edible Vegetable Oil (Sunflower), Iodised Salt.
Does MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted) live up to its claims?
4 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care. "Dry Roasted, Never Fried" needs care: The list also includes sunflower oil, with no amount declared. Almonds are naturally 51 g fat per 100 g, so the oil is a small addition to an already fatty nut.
Who should limit MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted)?
Most adults: occasionally. 603 kcal per 100 g, so a 10 g handful is 60 kcal and the full pack is about 271 kcal. Children: occasionally. Useful protein and fibre, but dense in calories and salted at 422 mg sodium per 100 g. Whole nuts also need age-appropriate care. Diabetes or prediabetes: occasionally. 0 g added sugar and 5 g total sugar per 100 g, with 23 g carbohydrate, so portion size is the point.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted) have?
Per 100 g, MOM California Flavoured Almonds (Roasted & Salted) has 0 g added sugar, 422 mg sodium (about 1.1 g salt) and 3 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is under all three lines.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | CA4 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Nuts & Trail Mixes
All Nuts & Trail Mixes →- Wonderland Foods Mazafati Black Dates (Khajur)
- −Red flag: High sugar (60g per 100g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (8g)
- Tata Sampann Premium Pumpkin Seeds
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (8.8g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (33.9g)
- AMAYU Premium Mix Dry Fruits & Seeds Trail Mix
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (6.7g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (29.6g)
- Bolas Royal Almonds
- +Green flag: Source of protein (21.4g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (9.9g)



