MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond)
Published
MuscleBlaze Choco Almond Protein Bar is a soy and whey protein bar bound and coated with a chocolate compound. It scores [F]CC4: protein and fibre are strong, ingredients lose points for hydrogenated fat, maltitol and several additives, and risk is high because of the saturated fat. Best kept as an occasional protein snack, not a daily staple.
Ingredients, decoded
15 listed- Protein Blend
- Soy Nuggets
- Whey Protein Concentrate
- Soy Protein Isolate & Calcium Caseinate
- Dark Chocolate Compound
- Maltitol (INS 965)
- Edible Vegetable Fat (Hydrogenated)
- Cocoa Solids & Emulsifiers (INS 491 & INS 322 (i) & Nature Identical Flavouring Substance)
- Fructo Oligosaccharide
- Almonds
- Rice Crispy
- Humectant (INS422)
- Sweetener (INS965) (i)
- Sunflower Oil
- Cocoa Powder
- Rolled Oats
- Nature Identical Flavouring Substances
- Flax Seeds
- Emulsifier (INS 322(i))
- Stabilizer (INS 466)
- Sodium Chloride & Antioxidant (INS 301)

3½ teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 17.3 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
| Energy | 422.8 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 28.6 g |
| Carbohydrates | 39.2 g |
| Total sugars | 17.3 g |
| Added sugars | 12.7 g |
| Dietary fibre | 10.1 g |
| Total fat | 19.1 g |
| Saturated fat | 14.2 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g |
| Cholesterol | 4.7 mg |
| Sodium | 303.5 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
What to know about MuscleBlaze Protein Bar
20 g of protein, wrapped in hydrogenated fat
A 70 g protein bar built on a protein blend of soy nuggets, whey protein concentrate, soy protein isolate and calcium caseinate (37.32%), with a dark chocolate compound (17.24%), fructo oligosaccharide, almonds (2%), rice crisps and rolled oats. It is bought by gym-goers and desk snackers who want a protein hit without a meal.
What you get is real: 20 g protein and 7.07 g fibre in a 296 kcal bar. What it costs sits in the fat and the sweeteners. Saturated fat is 14.16 g per 100 g, about 9.9 g a bar, and added sugar is 12.69 g per 100 g, about 8.9 g a bar. The chocolate compound also brings maltitol, a sugar alcohol with a laxative warning on the back.
The name promises choco almond. The chocolate is a compound made with maltitol and hydrogenated vegetable fat, and the almonds are 2% of the bar, so the name is more flavour than ingredient. The hydrogenated fat has no partly or fully qualifier, so it is scored as partially hydrogenated oil. CleanPlate scores it [F]CC4.
Why MuscleBlaze Protein Bar scores [F]CC4
Nutrition and ingredients are both a C: protein is 28.57 g and fibre 10.1 g per 100 g, but hydrogenated fat, maltitol and several additives cost points. Risk is a 4 on 14.16 g saturated fat per 100 g.
Adequate nutrient density
- Protein
- 28.6 g
- Fibre
- 10.1 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- None declared
- Energy
- 423 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why C
Protein is 28.57 g per 100 g, 20 g in a 70 g bar, and fibre is 10.1 g per 100 g, 7.07 g a bar. The largest protein source is soy nuggets, which count a little below isolated or dairy protein.
Part of the fibre is added fructo oligosaccharide rather than whole grain, which limits the credit it earns. No vitamins or minerals are declared, so protein and fibre carry the grade.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Mixed processing and additives
- Base
- Protein Blend
- Main fat
- Dark Chocolate Compound...
- Sweeteners
- Dark Chocolate Co...
- Additives
- 5
- Flagged
- None
02 Ingredient integrity: why C
The protein blend leads, which is a good start. Behind it the chocolate compound brings maltitol and edible vegetable fat (hydrogenated), and maltitol appears again as a sweetener.
The hydrogenated fat has no partly or fully qualifier, so the declared trans fat is not accepted and the fat is scored as partially hydrogenated oil. That costs ingredient points until the maker confirms.
The additives add further cost: the stabiliser carboxymethyl cellulose (466) costs the most, then glycerol (422), sorbitan monostearate (491), maltitol (965), lecithin (322) and nature-identical flavourings. The name's chocolate and almond are also not backed by a stated cocoa share, which costs small label points.
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
High risk
- Added sugar
- 12.7 g
- Sodium
- 303.5 mg
- Saturated fat
- 14.2 g
- Trans fat
- 0 g
03 Load risk: why 4
Saturated fat drives the grade: 14.16 g per 100 g, almost three times the 5 g high line. One bar has 9.9 g.
Free sugar of 12.69 g, energy of 423 kcal and sodium of 303.5 mg per 100 g add smaller amounts. Trans fat is declared as under 0.007 g a bar, but it is not counted for the reason above.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
[F] Added vitamins or minerals meaningfully lift this product's nutrition grade. Without them it would score lower.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High added sugar (12.7g per 100g)
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (14.2g)
Green flags
- +Green flag: High protein (28.6g per 100g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (10.1g)
Does MuscleBlaze Protein Bar live up to its claims?
The 20 g protein claim holds. The choco almond name is mostly flavour, with almonds at 2%, and the fibre figure printed on the front differs between prints.
- Product nameHolds
“20g Protein Bar”
The panel shows 20 g protein in the 70 g bar, 28.57 g per 100 g, from soy nuggets, whey concentrate, soy isolate and calcium caseinate.
- Product namePartly true
“Choco Almond Flavour”
Almonds are 2% of the bar. The chocolate is a compound at 17.24% made with maltitol and hydrogenated vegetable fat, and the cocoa solids share is not stated.
- On the packBe careful
“Dietary Fibre on the front”
One front print shows 4.55 g and another 7.17 g, while the nutrition panel shows 7.07 g per 70 g bar. The panel figure is the one used here.
What's in MuscleBlaze Protein Bar?
A protein blend leads, then a chocolate compound made with maltitol and hydrogenated fat. The fat, the maltitol and the thickener are what to watch.
The ingredient list, read for you
The protein blend leads at 37.32%, followed by a dark chocolate compound at 17.24%, made of maltitol, hydrogenated vegetable fat, cocoa solids and emulsifiers. Fructo oligosaccharide adds fibre and sweetness, and almonds are only 2%.
Rice crisps and rolled oats give the crunch, and flax seeds and sunflower oil follow. Glycerol keeps it soft, a second maltitol sweetener, a stabiliser (466) holds it together, and salt and an antioxidant finish the list.
Ingredients to watch
- Hydrogenated vegetable fat (type not stated)Concern
Inside the chocolate compound, listed with no partly or fully qualifier. It is scored as partially hydrogenated oil and costs ingredient points until the maker confirms. Trans fat is declared as under 0.007 g a bar.
- Saturated fatConcern
14.16 g per 100 g, about 9.9 g in one bar, nearly three times the 5 g high line per 100 g.
- MaltitolWorth watching
A sugar alcohol in the chocolate compound and again as a sweetener. It still counts as calories, and the pack warns polyols may have a laxative effect.
- Added sugarWorth watching
12.69 g per 100 g, about 8.9 g in one bar.
- Stabiliser and other additivesWorth watching
Carboxymethyl cellulose (466), glycerol (422), sorbitan monostearate (491) and flavourings each cost ingredient points.
- Protein and fibreFine
20 g protein and 7.07 g fibre per bar, with protein as the first ingredient group.
What it doesn’t have
- No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
Who should eat MuscleBlaze Protein Bar?
An occasional snack for most adults and active people, and rarely for children or anyone with diabetes, since one bar has 8.9 g added sugar and 9.9 g saturated fat.
- Most adultsOccasionally
One bar has 9.9 g saturated fat, close to half a day's limit.
- ChildrenRarely
Hydrogenated fat and a sugar alcohol, with 8.9 g added sugar a bar.
- Diabetes or prediabetesRarely
8.9 g added sugar plus maltitol in one bar.
- Active peopleOccasionally
20 g protein is handy after training, but the saturated fat adds up.
MuscleBlaze Protein Bar: common questions
What is the CleanPlate score of MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond)?
MuscleBlaze Choco Almond Protein Bar is a soy and whey protein bar bound and coated with a chocolate compound. It scores [F]CC4: protein and fibre are strong, ingredients lose points for hydrogenated fat, maltitol and several additives, and risk is high because of the saturated fat. Best kept as an occasional protein snack, not a daily staple. Nutrition C, ingredients C, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.
How many calories and how much protein are in MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond)?
Per 100 g, MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond) has 423 kcal, 28.6 g protein, 39.2 g carbohydrate, 19.1 g fat and 14.2 g saturated fat. One serve (1 bar, 70 g) has 296 kcal and 20 g protein.
What are the ingredients in MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond)?
15 ingredients, in label order: Protein Blend (Soy Nuggets, Whey Protein Concentrate, Soy Protein Isolate & Calcium Caseinate), Dark Chocolate Compound (Maltitol (INS 965), Edible Vegetable Fat (Hydrogenated), Cocoa Solids & Emulsifiers (INS 491 & INS 322 (i) & Nature Identical Flavouring Substance)), Fructo Oligosaccharide, Almonds, Rice Crispy, Humectant (INS422), Sweetener (INS965) (i), Sunflower Oil, Cocoa Powder, Rolled Oats, Nature....
Does MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond) live up to its claims?
3 claims checked: 1 holds, 1 is partly true, 1 needs care. "Choco Almond Flavour" is partly true: Almonds are 2% of the bar. The chocolate is a compound at 17.24% made with maltitol and hydrogenated vegetable fat, and the cocoa solids share is not stated. "Dietary Fibre on the front" needs care: One front print shows 4.55 g and another 7.17 g, while the nutrition panel shows 7.07 g per 70 g bar. The panel figure is the one used here.
Who should limit MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond)?
Most adults: occasionally. One bar has 9.9 g saturated fat, close to half a day's limit. Children: rarely. Hydrogenated fat and a sugar alcohol, with 8.9 g added sugar a bar. Diabetes or prediabetes: rarely. 8.9 g added sugar plus maltitol in one bar.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond) have?
Per 100 g, MuscleBlaze 20g Protein Bar (Choco Almond) has 12.7 g added sugar, 304 mg sodium (about 0.8 g salt) and 14.2 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar and saturated fat.
Last reviewed October 29, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Label read on 29 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 29 October 2026 | CC4 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Protein Bars
All Protein Bars →- The Whole Truth 20 g Protein Bar - Peanut Cocoa
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (5.7g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (20.6g)
- The Whole Truth Double Cocoa Protein Bar
- −Red flag: High saturated fat (6.5g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (25g)
- The Whole Truth Protein Bar Hazelnut Cocoa
- +Green flag: Source of protein (21g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (7.2g)
- Avvatar Chocolate Protein Wafer Bar
- −Red flag: Contains Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
- −Red flag: Contains trans fat (0.3g)



