Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu

Published

Summary

Eat Better Co Peanut Chocolate Laddu is a date-and-nut sweet sold as a no-added-sugar treat, but the chocolate in the name is barely there. It scores [L]CA4: nutrition is middling, ingredients are strong with a short whole-food list, and risk is high because of the saturated fat and energy density. Best as a small occasional sweet, one laddoo at a time.

Full summary

Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu

Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu scores [L]CA4 on CleanPlate: nutrition C, ingredients A, load risk 4.

The [L] flag means the name or pack promises more than the ingredient list delivers.

12%16%26%42%

Tap a slice or a name to see what it is made of.

Share of calories, per 100 g

  • Protein: 13.3 g per 100 g, 12% of the calories.
  • Carbs (not counting sugars and fibre): 18.3 g per 100 g, 16% of the calories.
  • Sugars: 28.9 g per 100 g, 26% of the calories, of which 0 g is added.
  • Fat: 21 g per 100 g, 42% of the calories, of which 11 g is saturated.
  • Fibre: 9.3 g per 100 g, 4% of the calories (fibre counts at 2 kcal per gram).
Added sugar0 g
Saturated fat11 g
Sodium67.8 mg

The tick is the “high” line

Watch
High sugar (28.9g per 100g); High saturated fat (11g)
In its favour
High fibre (9.3g); No added sugar
On the pack
5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading

Last reviewed October 31, 2026

Ingredients, decoded

8 listed
  • Dates
  • Peanuts
  • Cashews
  • Oats
  • Cacao
  • Chia seeds
  • Vanilla Extracts
  • Sea salt
High concernModerate concernLow concernNo concernIn label order. Tap a highlighted one to learn more. How we rate additives
Eat Better Co Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu pack, front view

6 teaspoons of sugar in every 100 g · 28.9 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon

LPack claim not backed upHigh sugarHigh saturated fatHigh calories (over 400 kcal per 100 g)Nutrition per 100 g
CNutrition densityAIngredient integrity4Load risk
Nutrition facts
Energy468.5 kcal
Protein13.3 g
Carbohydrates56.5 g
Total sugars28.9 g
Added sugars0 g
Dietary fibre9.3 g
Total fat21 g
Saturated fat11 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol0 mg
Sodium67.8 mg
Highlighted values exceed FSSAI and UK FSA front of pack thresholds.

Think this score is wrong?

What to know about Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu

Date-sweetened nut laddoos with no real chocolate

Eat Better Co Peanut Chocolate Laddu is a ball of dates (46%), peanuts (32%), cashews (10%) and oats (7.6%), with cacao (2.2%), chia seeds (1.6%), vanilla extracts (0.6%) and sea salt. It is bought by people who want an Indian-style sweet without refined sugar, and it comes as a 40 g pack of 10 g laddoos.

Per 10 g laddoo you get 47 kcal, 1.3 g protein, 0.9 g fibre and 1.1 g saturated fat. Per 100 g the figures are 468.5 kcal, 13.3 g protein, 9.3 g fibre and 11 g saturated fat. Added sugar is 0 g, but total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g, all from the dates.

The pack's no-added-sugar line holds, and the dates and nuts are real. The name is the problem: it promises chocolate, and the list has only cacao at 2.2%, which sets the [L] flag. CleanPlate scores it [L]CA4.

Does Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu live up to its claims?

The date sweetening, no-added-sugar and 88% dry fruits and nuts claims hold. The chocolate in the name does not: only 2.2% cacao is listed, and the retailer page says sugar-free.

  • Product name

    “Peanut Chocolate Laddoos”

    Misleading

    No chocolate is listed. The only chocolate-type ingredient is cacao at 2.2%, which is not the same as chocolate.

  • On the pack

    “No added sugars*”

    Holds

    Added sugar is 0 g. The footnote says the sugars are naturally occurring, and total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g, from dates at 46%.

  • Retail listing

    “Sugar-Free”

    Be careful

    The retailer page shows Sugar-Free in the name, the pack shows No added sugars with a footnote on natural sugars. Total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g, so sugar-free overstates it.

  • On the pack

    “Made with 88% Dry fruits & nuts”

    Holds

    Dates 46%, peanuts 32% and cashews 10% add up to 88%.

  • On the pack

    “Only 47 calories per laddoo”

    Holds

    At 468.5 kcal per 100 g, a 10 g laddoo has about 47 kcal. The 40 g pack holds four.

Why Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu scores [L]CA4

Nutrition is a C on 13.3 g protein and 9.3 g fibre per 100 g, with no vitamins declared. Ingredients are an A for a short whole-food list, and risk is a 4 on 11 g saturated fat.

How we score →
01 Nutrition densityA to E
C

Adequate nutrient density

Protein
13.3 g
Fibre
9.3 g
Vitamins and minerals
None declared
Energy
469 kcal

01 Nutrition density: why C

Protein is 13.3 g per 100 g and fibre is 9.3 g, so one 10 g laddoo gives 1.3 g protein and 0.9 g fibre. Peanuts are the biggest protein source, followed by the other nuts and seeds.

Energy is 468.5 kcal per 100 g and no vitamins or minerals are declared, so the grade rests on protein and fibre alone.

Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.

02 Ingredient integrityA to E
A

Clean, minimally processed

Base
Dates
Sweeteners
None added
Additives
0
Flagged
None

02 Ingredient integrity: why A

The list is short and whole-food: dates, peanuts, cashews, oats, cacao and chia seeds, with percentages declared for each. That earns a strong ingredient grade.

Two things cost points. The vanilla extracts entry does not state its flavouring class, which costs ingredient points. The bigger cost is label integrity: chocolate is in the product name and is not in the list, which sets the [L] flag.

Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.

03 Load risk1 to 5
4

High risk

Added sugar
0 g
Sodium
67.8 mg
Saturated fat
11 g
Trans fat
0 g

03 Load risk: why 4

Saturated fat is the main driver: 11 g per 100 g, more than twice the 5 g high line. One laddoo has 1.1 g.

Energy (468.5 kcal per 100 g) adds to it, while sodium is low at 67.8 mg per 100 g. Added sugar is 0 g, so sugar plays no part in the number, even though the dates bring 28.9 g of total sugar per 100 g.

Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.

[L] The name or pack claims promise more than the ingredient list delivers. See Claims vs reality.

Red flags

  • Red flag: High sugar (28.9g per 100g)
  • Red flag: High saturated fat (11g)

Green flags

  • Green flag: High fibre (9.3g)
  • Green flag: No added sugar
  • Green flag: Low sodium

What's in Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

Dates, peanuts and cashews lead the list, with oats and a little cacao. Watch the saturated fat and remember that the sugar from dates still counts.

The ingredient list, read for you

Dates lead at 46%, so they are both the sweetener and the binder, followed by peanuts at 32% and cashews at 10%. Oats (7.6%), cacao (2.2%) and chia seeds (1.6%) add bulk, fibre and some flavour, and vanilla extracts (0.6%) and sea salt finish it.

Ingredients to watch

  • Chocolate missingConcern

    Chocolate is in the name, but only cacao at 2.2% is listed. This is the hollow promise behind the [L] flag.

  • Saturated fatConcern

    11 g per 100 g, over twice the 5 g high line. One laddoo has 1.1 g, a four-laddoo pack about 4.4 g.

  • Natural sugar from datesWorth watching

    Added sugar is 0 g, but total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g, about 2.9 g per laddoo.

  • Vanilla extractsWorth watching

    The flavouring class is not stated, which costs a small number of ingredient points.

  • Whole-food baseFine

    Dates, nuts, oats and chia make up almost the whole list, with 9.3 g fibre and 13.3 g protein per 100 g.

What it doesn’t have

  • No vitamins or minerals are declared on the panel.
  • No chocolate is listed, despite the name.

Who should eat Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

An occasional sweet for most adults and children, one laddoo at a time. People managing blood sugar should check with their doctor, since total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g.

  • Most adultsOccasionally

    11 g saturated fat per 100 g, though one laddoo has only 1.1 g.

  • ChildrenOccasionally

    Whole-food base, but nuts are an allergen and total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g.

  • Diabetes or prediabetesCheck with your doctor

    No added sugar, but dates bring 28.9 g of sugar per 100 g.

  • Weight managementOccasionally

    47 kcal per laddoo is small, but 468.5 kcal per 100 g adds up fast.

Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu: common questions

What is the CleanPlate score of Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

Eat Better Co Peanut Chocolate Laddu is a date-and-nut sweet sold as a no-added-sugar treat, but the chocolate in the name is barely there. It scores [L]CA4: nutrition is middling, ingredients are strong with a short whole-food list, and risk is high because of the saturated fat and energy density. Best as a small occasional sweet, one laddoo at a time. Nutrition C, ingredients A, load risk 4; nutrition and ingredients run A to E, risk runs 1 to 5, and A and 1 are best.

How many calories and how much protein are in Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

Per 100 g, Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu has 469 kcal, 13.3 g protein, 56.5 g carbohydrate, 21 g fat and 11 g saturated fat. One serve (1 laddoo, 10 g) has 47 kcal and 1.3 g protein.

What are the ingredients in Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

8 ingredients, in label order: Dates, Peanuts, Cashews, Oats, Cacao, Chia seeds, Vanilla Extracts, Sea salt.

Does Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu live up to its claims?

5 claims checked: 3 hold, 1 needs care, 1 is misleading. "Peanut Chocolate Laddoos" is misleading: No chocolate is listed. The only chocolate-type ingredient is cacao at 2.2%, which is not the same as chocolate. "Sugar-Free" needs care: The retailer page shows Sugar-Free in the name, the pack shows No added sugars with a footnote on natural sugars. Total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g, so sugar-free overstates it.

Who should limit Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu?

Most adults: occasionally. 11 g saturated fat per 100 g, though one laddoo has only 1.1 g. Children: occasionally. Whole-food base, but nuts are an allergen and total sugar is 28.9 g per 100 g. Diabetes or prediabetes: check with your doctor. No added sugar, but dates bring 28.9 g of sugar per 100 g.

How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu have?

Per 100 g, Peanut Chocolate Sugar-Free Laddu has 0 g added sugar, 68 mg sodium (about 0.2 g salt) and 11 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in sugar and saturated fat.

Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .

Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.

Score history (1)
DateScoreMethodWhy
31 October 2026CA4v5.0First scored

Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.

Better Indian Sweets

All Indian Sweets →