Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips
Published · Last updated
A realistic serve of Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips (30 g serve, as printed on the pack) has 86 kcal, 1.4 g protein, 10.1 g carbohydrate, 4.4 g fat, 0.8 g added sugar and 237 mg sodium. Per 100 g it has 287 kcal, 4.7 g protein, 33.7 g carbohydrate, 14.8 g fat, 3.9 g saturated fat, 2.7 g added sugar, 5.1 g fibre and 790 mg sodium.
Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips are a crunchy namkeen-style snack made from ragi, tapioca starch and rice flour with a masala seasoning. It scores [L]DB3: nutrition is low on modest protein, ingredients hold up fairly well but lose points for flavourings, and risk is middling on salt, while the protein claim on the front is hollow. An occasional snack, not a protein source.
Ingredients, decoded
19 listed- Ragi flour
- tapioca starch
- rice flour
- white lentil flour
- gram flour
- iodised salt
- edible vegetable oil (rice bran oil)
- Seasoning: Spices & spice extracts
- red chilli powder
- dry mango powder
- pudina flavour
- tomato flavour
- black salt
- maltodextrin
- acidity regulators
- INS 330
- INS 296
- anti-caking agent (INS 170(i))
- flavour enhancers
- INS 627
- INS 631
- paprika oleoresin (INS 160c)

1 teaspoon of sugar in every 100 g · 4.1 g total sugar, 5 g a teaspoon
Score and nutrition facts for Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips:
| Energy | 286.8 kcal |
|---|---|
| Protein | 4.7 g |
| Carbohydrates | 33.7 g |
| Total sugars | 4.1 g |
| Added sugars | 2.7 g |
| Dietary fibre | 5.1 g |
| Total fat | 14.8 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.9 g |
| Trans fat | 0.05 g |
| Cholesterol | 0.57 mg |
| Sodium | 789.7 mg |
| Calcium | 94.4 mg |
Think this score is wrong?
Why Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips scores [L]DB3
Nutrition is a D on only 4.67 g protein and 5.07 g fibre per 100 g. Ingredients are a B, held back by flavourings and enhancers, and risk is a 3, driven mostly by 789.69 mg sodium.
Low nutrient density
- Protein
- 4.7 g
- Fibre
- 5.1 g
- Vitamins and minerals
- Calcium
- Energy
- 287 kcal
01 Nutrition density: why D
Protein is 4.67 g per 100 g and fibre is 5.07 g. The protein is low enough that the grade gets only half credit for it, and the flour base is mostly refined starch and rice.
Calcium is 94.39 mg per 100 g, but it is not enough to lift the grade. Energy is 286.81 kcal per 100 g with 14.8 g fat.
Scored on protein, fibre and twelve vitamins and minerals, against the Codex and FSSAI "source" and "high" levels, per 100 g and per 100 kcal. Protein also has to supply at least 12.5% of the calories to count, and 25% for full credit.
Good, few concerning additives
- Base
- Ragi flour
- Main fat
- edible vegetable oil
- Sweeteners
- maltodextrin
- Additives
- 3
- Flagged
- Maltodextrin
02 Ingredient integrity: why B
The list is simple at the front: ragi, tapioca starch, rice flour, lentil and gram flour, then rice bran oil. No hydrogenated fat is listed, and no ingredient percentages are declared.
Points are lost further down. Flavouring with its class not stated, a flavour enhancer pair (627 and 631), calcium carbonate as an anti-caking agent and paprika oleoresin each cost ingredient points. Citric and malic acid cost none.
The front claim of source of protein costs further points, because 4.67 g per 100 g is under the source line. That is what sets the [L].
Scored on how processed the ingredients are, which additives are used and why, and whether the label keeps its promises.
Moderate risk
- Added sugar
- 2.7 g
- Sodium
- 789.7 mg
- Saturated fat
- 3.9 g
- Trans fat
- 0.05 g
03 Load risk: why 3
Sodium is the main driver: 789.69 mg per 100 g, about 237 mg in a 30 g serve. It makes up most of the risk number.
Saturated fat is 3.94 g per 100 g, under the 5 g high line, and added sugar is 2.71 g. Trans fat is 0.05 g, accepted because no hydrogenated fat is listed. Energy adds little.
Scored on free sugar, sodium, saturated fat and trans fat, each weighed by how strong the evidence of harm is.
[L] The name or pack claims promise more than the ingredient list delivers. See Claims vs reality.
Red flags
- −Red flag: High sodium (789.7mg per 100g)
- −Red flag: Contains Maltodextrin
Green flags
- +Green flag: Source of fibre
Does Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips live up to its claims?
No palm oil and made with millets both hold, but source of protein does not: 4.67 g per 100 g is under the line. The energy figure also differs between the pack and the retailer page.
- On the packMisleading
“Source of protein”
Protein is 4.67 g per 100 g, under the source line, so the claim is hollow. A 30 g serve gives about 1.4 g.
- On the packBe careful
“Rich in dietary fibre”
Fibre is real at 5.07 g per 100 g, about 1.5 g in a 30 g serve, but modest for the word rich.
- On the packHolds
“No palm oil”
The oil listed is rice bran oil, and no palm oil appears in the ingredients.
- On the packHolds
“Made with millets”
Ragi flour leads the list, followed by tapioca starch and rice flour. No percentage is declared.
- On the packBe careful
“Energy 162 kcal per serve”
The pack front prints 162 kcal per 30 g serve, about 540 kcal per 100 g. The retailer page shows 286.81 kcal per 100 g, so the numbers conflict.
What's in Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
Ragi flour, tapioca starch and rice flour lead the list. Watch the flavourings, the two flavour enhancers and the salt.
19 ingredients listed. Additives and watched ingredients we rate: 1 low concern. 6 more entries look like additives we have not researched yet.
The ingredient list, read for you
Ragi flour, tapioca starch and rice flour come first, so the chips are a millet and starch base, with white lentil and gram flour adding some protein. Rice bran oil is the cooking fat, and iodised salt follows.
The masala comes from chilli, dry mango powder, pudina and tomato flavour and black salt. Maltodextrin, two acidity regulators, an anti-caking agent, flavour enhancers 627 and 631 and paprika oleoresin as colour finish the list.
What the additives do
Maltodextrin (low concern): filler and thickener. A highly processed carbohydrate from starch, used as a filler and thickener. It raises blood sugar quickly. More on Maltodextrin.
Not in our additive research yet: INS 330; INS 296; anti-caking agent (INS 170(i)); INS 627; INS 631; paprika oleoresin (INS 160c).
Ingredients to watch
- Source of protein claimConcern
4.67 g protein per 100 g is under the source line, so the front-of-pack promise is hollow and costs ingredient points.
- Flavourings and flavour enhancersConcern
Flavouring with its class not stated, and enhancers 627 and 631, each cost ingredient points. The pack also says tomato and pudina flavour are nature identical.
- SodiumWorth watching
789.69 mg per 100 g, about 2 g of salt, and about 237 mg in a 30 g serve.
- Calcium carbonate and paprika oleoresinWorth watching
The anti-caking agent and the colour are both additives that cost a small number of ingredient points.
- Rice bran oil, no palm oilFine
The fat is rice bran oil, and saturated fat is 3.94 g per 100 g, under the 5 g high line.
What it doesn’t have
- No ingredient percentages are declared, so the share of ragi is unknown.
What to know about Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips
Millet chips with a protein claim that falls short
A 57 g pack of masala-flavoured millet chips. The list starts with ragi flour, then tapioca starch, rice flour, white lentil flour and gram flour, with rice bran oil, iodised salt and a seasoning of chilli, dry mango, pudina and tomato flavour. No percentages are declared. It is sold as a crunchy, palm-oil-free alternative to potato chips.
Per 100 g the chips give 286.81 kcal, 4.67 g protein, 5.07 g fibre, 14.8 g fat and 789.69 mg sodium, about 2 g of salt. A 30 g serve, the pack's own, comes to roughly 1.4 g protein, 1.5 g fibre and 237 mg sodium.
The pack gets the oil and the millet base right: it says no palm oil and the oil is rice bran oil, and ragi leads the list. It gets protein wrong: the front says source of protein, and the protein is under the source line. That hollow promise sets the [L]. CleanPlate scores it [L]DB3.
Who should eat Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
A few times a week at most for adults, and occasionally for children or anyone watching blood pressure, because of the 789.69 mg sodium per 100 g.
- Most adultsA few times a week
A 30 g serve has about 237 mg sodium and little protein.
- ChildrenOccasionally
Flavour enhancers, a colour and 789.69 mg sodium per 100 g.
- High blood pressureOccasionally
789.69 mg sodium per 100 g, so a full pack has around 450 mg.
- Weight managementOccasionally
286.81 kcal per 100 g with 14.8 g fat, and it is easy to eat past a serve.
Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips: common questions
Is Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips healthy?
Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips is high in salt, so a few servings a week is fine.
How many calories and how much protein are in Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
Per 100 g, Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips has 287 kcal, 4.7 g protein, 33.7 g carbohydrate, 14.8 g fat and 3.9 g saturated fat. One serve (30 g serve, as printed on the pack) has 86 kcal and 1.4 g protein.
What are the ingredients in Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
19 ingredients, in label order: Ragi flour, tapioca starch, rice flour, white lentil flour, gram flour, iodised salt, edible vegetable oil (rice bran oil), Seasoning: Spices & spice extracts (red chilli powder, dry mango powder, pudina flavour, tomato flavour, black salt), maltodextrin, acidity regulators (INS 330, INS 296), anti-caking agent (INS 170(i)), flavour enhancers (INS 627, INS 631), paprika oleoresin (INS 160c). Flagged: Maltodextrin (low concern).
Does Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips live up to its claims?
5 claims checked: 2 hold, 2 need care, 1 is misleading. "Source of protein" is misleading: Protein is 4.67 g per 100 g, under the source line, so the claim is hollow. A 30 g serve gives about 1.4 g. "Rich in dietary fibre" needs care: Fibre is real at 5.07 g per 100 g, about 1.5 g in a 30 g serve, but modest for the word rich.
Who should limit Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
Most adults: a few times a week. A 30 g serve has about 237 mg sodium and little protein. Children: occasionally. Flavour enhancers, a colour and 789.69 mg sodium per 100 g. High blood pressure: occasionally. 789.69 mg sodium per 100 g, so a full pack has around 450 mg.
How much sugar, salt and saturated fat does Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips have?
Per 100 g, Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips has 2.7 g added sugar, 790 mg sodium (about 2 g salt) and 3.9 g saturated fat. The FSSAI and UK FSA "high" lines are 10 g added sugar, 600 mg sodium and 5 g saturated fat per 100 g. It is high in salt.
What does the DB3 score mean for Snackible Desi Masala Ragi Chips?
The first letter (D) grades nutrition density on A to E, the second (B) grades ingredient integrity on A to E, and the number (3) grades load risk on 1 to 5. A and 1 are best. Nutrition: Protein is 4.67 g per 100 g and fibre is 5.07 g. The protein is low enough that the grade gets only half credit for it, and the flour base is mostly refined starch and rice. Ingredients: The list is simple at the front: ragi, tapioca starch, rice flour, lentil and gram flour, then rice bran oil. No hydrogenated fat is listed, and no ingredient percentages are declared. Load risk: Sodium is the main driver: 789.69 mg per 100 g, about 237 mg in a 30 g serve. It makes up most of the risk number.
Last reviewed October 31, 2026. Scored with the CleanPlate method from the published label. Spotted a mistake? .
Reference values: FSSAI labelling regulations, Codex Alimentarius, ICMR-NIN and the UK front of pack guidance. Where our label data comes from.
Label read on 31 October 2026, from photos of the pack. If the pack has changed since, tell us.
Score history (1)
| Date | Score | Method | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2026 | DB3 | v5.0 | First scored |
Every change to this score is logged. See corrections and the method changelog.
Better Chips
All Chips →- Crispy Beetroot with Himalayan Rock Salt
- +Green flag: High fibre (17.7g)
- +Green flag: No added sugar
- SuperYou Multigrain Super Masala Chips
- −Red flag: High sodium (700mg per 100g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (25g)
- The Baker's Dozen Multigrain Protein Chips Masala Mania
- −Red flag: High sodium (611.1mg per 100g)
- +Green flag: Source of protein (22.2g)
- The Baker's Dozen Multigrain Protein Sour Cream & Onion Chips
- +Green flag: Source of protein (22.2g)
- +Green flag: High fibre (8.9g)





